This is the "Clinical Pyschology: Subject Research Guide" page of the "Clinical Psychology: A Library Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Clinical Psychology: A Library Research Guide  

Last Updated: Apr 5, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/clinicalpsychology Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Clinical Pyschology: Subject Research Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 

Journal Finder

 

  • Journal Finder
    Use the Journal Finder to find out if UVa has a journal online fulltext or in print format,

    Enter the title of the journal in the 2nd search box in the Journal Finder to determine if it is available online.

    Enter the title of the journal in the 1st search box in the Journal Finder to see if it is in print. If it is and you are taking classes on-Grounds, you would need to go to the library to get the journal. If you are enrolled in the Curry Distance Education program, you can request a digital copy of the article using the library's interlibrary loan service.

Dissertations

If you need a copy of a issertation that is not available online full text, you can use the Library's free Interlibrary Loan Service to try and obtain a copy.

In addition to the databases below, you can also locate dissertations that are distributed as open access dissertations by searching Google using the the title, author. or keyword although identifying a dissertation from the retrieved results is a bit challenging due to the lack of meta tagging.. 

Handbooks

View all of the titles in  the CLIC's collection of more than 300 handbooks. Other libraries also have handbooks and some are online.

Handbooks are a great resource for locating best practices, research theories, names of authors, background material, overviews of topics, and good keyword terminology to use when you search databases for journal articles and other materials to inform and support your research.

 

The handbooks are located to the right of the door as you enter the CLIC. You cannot check out handbooks, however you can scan pages for free if you use the digital sender in the CLIC or photocopy them for 8 cents per page using the public printer/copier in the CLIC and your Cavalier debit card

Sample Handbooks

  • Comprehensive Handbook of Multicultural School Psychology
    CLIC Handbook Area:
    LB 1027.55 .C66 2005
    Table of Contents
  • Handbook of Adolescent Behavioral Problems: Evidence-Based Approaches to Prevention and Treatment
    CLIC Handbook Area:
    RJ 503 .H266 2005
    Table of contents
  • Handbook of Adult Clinical Psychology: An Evidence-Based Practice Approach
    CLIC Handbook Area: RC 467.2 .H34 2006
    Table of Contents
  • Handbook of Child and Adolescent Clinical Psychology: A Contextual Approach.]
    CLIC Handbook Area: RJ 503.3 .C37 2006
    1999, 1st ed. (full text)
    Table of Contents: 2006, 2nd ed.
  • Handbook of Clinical Psychology (2 volumes)
    CLIC Handbook Area: RC 467.2 .H357 2008
    Table of Contents: Vol. 1, Vol. 2
  • Handbook of Multicultural Counseling, 1st, 2nd, & 3rd eds.
    CLIC Handbook Area:
    BF 637 .C6 H3174 1995, 2001, 2010
    Tables of Contents: 1st ed., 2nd ed., 3rd ed.
  • Handbook of School Counseling
    CLIC's Handbook Area:
    LB 1027.5 .H336 2008
    Table of Contents
  • Oxford Handbook of Counseling Psychology
    CLIC Handbook Area:
    BF 636.6 .O94 2012
    Table of Contents
  • Principles of Multicultural Counseling and Therapy (ONLINE)
    2008

Books

Test Instruments

Government Resources

Videos

U.Va. has videos to support research and teaching as well as videos for recreational use.  We have VHS, DVD, online, and streaming videos.   The can view the streaming videos and online videos at home!

For example,  I typed in the keyword SCHOOL. Click here to see the results I got  including documentaries, PBS shows, recreational videos, and more. 

Other Recommended Journals

Below are links to highly recommended general education journals that may occasionally publish articles relevant to clinical psychology.

Associations

Below is a selective list of associations in this field. These websites frequently have additional resources for you. There may be white papers, codes of ethics, policy papers. software reviews, alerting services, notices about conferences, calls to authors for journal articles, and more.

Blogs and Twitter

Thie listing below are samples to acquaint you with the usefulness of blogs and tweets and to show the various targeted audiences.

APA Style

You will need to write your research paper using a consistent bibliographic style.  Curry students usually are assigned to use APA style. However, other styles are also available.

You can learn to use RefWorks citation software by contacting a CLIC librarian at 434-924-7040. RefWorks automatically generates, for example, APA formatted citations. You can also elect to write the citations in the style you have been assigned to use, In either case, the links below should prove useful.

 

Questions? Monday - Friday 8am-5pm
Ask Your Curry Librarians

Need help finding information for a research project or have questions about borrowing library books?  Contact us.  We are happy to help with any questions about research or library services.

CALL: Kay Buchanan 434-982-2664
CALL: Carole Lohman 434-924-7040
EMAIL: Email the Curry Librarians   

Questions? Evenings and Weekends
Ask a U.Va. Librarian

ITS Technology Help "Desk": Available 24/7

Library Services

Other Research Subject Guides

The librarians have created many research guides to help you find resources for your research papers, journal articles you are writing, etc.

Overview

This guide was developed by the CLIC librarians to support Clinical Psychology classes at the U.Va. Curry School of Education.

Updated 1/18/2013

      
     

    Please give us suggestions to improve this guide!

    Please give us suggestions to improve this guide!

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this page?
    (1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

    Additional comments:


    Your Email:



    UVa Library     |     UVa Library MOBILE    |    Off Grounds Access     |     ITC Help Desk     |     Ask a Librarian

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip