Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIUS 3559: Deindustrialization and Disco The United States in the 1970s

Searching Virgo

Introductory/Background Information

Subject encyclopedias can provide detailed and authoritative background information that can help you to begin your research. The articles can define terms, give an overview of a topic and suggest directions for narrowing your research. They can also provide bibliographies of books and articles for more in-depth research.

Finding Scholarly Articles

Journal Finder This and Google Scholar are the best ways to track down citations. Type in the title of your journal to see which databases provide access to it in full text. (Access from the Library’s main page using the drop-down for “Also Try” beneath the VIRGO search box.)

America History and Life  Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.

                                             Search = school desegregation    Historical Period = 1975-1979
 

JSTOR  Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present. Advanced Search gives you more control over your search results.

                      Advance Search = "climate change"     Item Type = articles  In Item Title    Date Range = 1970-1979

 

Google Scholar A useful free index to scholarly literature. "Cited by" can show more recent articles that have used a source of interest. "Related articles" also provides links to additional sources. In Settings, you can create "access links" for the University of Virginia Library (Find@UVA).
                

Academic Search Complete  Large general database of articles from scholarly journals, as well as a few newspapers and magazines, covering a wide range of topics.                                                               

Search for "new ice age" in all Text from Jan. 1970 to Jan. 1980

HeinOnline Retrospective, full-text .pdf coverage of hundreds of legal periodicals, U.S. Supreme Court cases, the U.S. Statutes at Large, Congressional Record, hearings and other legislative history materials, Federal Register, U.S. Attorney General opinions, U.S. treaties and agreements, Foreign and International Law, Israel Law Reports, English Reports, Hague Academy Recueil des Cours, Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law collection, and the Virginia Law Weekly archive. Searchable by citation, author/title, and keyword.

SPORT Discus With Full Text International database covering sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, coaching, recreation, and more. Includes book reviews.

For articles on music and the performing arts, see the Journal Articles section of our Music research guide

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature 

Call Number: AI3 .R48
Publication Date: 1900-1990

Finding Books and Other Primary Sources

VIRGO-- The U.Va. Library Catalog 

Keyword search should be "Google-like," just enter whatever terms you want; no need for connectors like and.
Will search the title, author's name or description of the item.

There are also some Subject terms that indicate primary source materials: 

Archives*
Correspondence*
Diaries*
Facsimilies
Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
Pamphlets
Personal narratives (used in relation to specific events only) 
Songs and music
Sources 
Speeches, addresses, etc.*
Treaties

*Used with individuals' names,classes of persons (e.g., soldiers), and organizations.
 

Google Books Searches the full text of thousands of books. If used in conjunction with Amazon.com full text search of a book, can get most of the text of a book. 

Dissertations & Theses Global Full text (PDF) of most US dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.

Proquest Congressional Publications Searchable, full text collection of U.S. government documents, including treaties, laws, and Congressional reports. Use Advanced Search, and notice date coverage for different types of documents.

 Declassified Documents Reference System Searchable collection of over 70,000 scanned declassified U.S. documents from the 1940s onwards taken from presidential libraries, the CIA, the FBI and other agencies. Covers the Cold War, Vietnam, the civil rights movement and other events.

Digital National Security Archive Over 35,000 declassified documents used in foreign policy decision-making by the U.S. government. Includes some photographs. These documents have been gathered since 1985 through the use of the Freedom of Information Act by the National Security Archive.
 
Foreign Relations of the United States 1932-present. Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and diplomacy. Contains documents from the departments of State and Defense, the National Security Council, CIA, presidential libraries, etc. This searchable online version from the Department of State includes many volumes from the Truman through the Ford administrations. The print volumes are in the Government Information Resources Stacks, Alderman 3rd floor, call number 1.1

Historical Newspapers and Magazines

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1991  20th century coverage for the New Orleans "Times-Picayune" (1837-1988), Cleveland "Plain Dealer" (1923-1991), and Portland "Oregonian" (1907-1987). Can limit by place.

                                           Search = hard hat AND parade in Full Text       Date Range = 1970 to 1971


ProQuest Historical Newspapers  New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, and Washington Post.

 

                       Advance Search =  Busing AND Pontiac
                                         
Date Range = January 1, 1970 - January 1, 1979

 

Ethnic NewsWatch   Full-text of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from 200 ethnic, minority, and native publications in the U.S.  Coverage back to 1959.
                      Advanced Search = textbooks AND minorities AND history     Date Range = Jan. 1, 1970 - Jan. 1,  1980

 

Factiva Search Form allows for relatively uncomplicated precision in searching. Only database to contain the Wall Street journal (1979 only). Proquest Historical Newspapers may be better for other sources.
 

 Periodicals Archive Online  Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990's.
                                                    Advanced Search = "youth values" in Article title, Jan. 1, 1970 to Jan. 1, 1980


US Newspapers in Microform Search by state, or by state and dates, to find which newspapers we have on microfilm. 

Indexing of Virginia newspapers is spotty, but there is one index you can use: Richmond Times Dispatch and Richmond News Leader are indexed in the microfiche Freeman File Index for the period 1920's-1985 [located in the Periodicals/Microforms Room, Alderman 3rd Floor.  Staff there can assist you.]  

Images

Google Image  Introduced in  2001, Google Image allows users to search the web for image content.

                                     Search = Mayday protests 1971

 American History in Video     Over 5000 films, commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries showing historical events and their presentation over time. 

                                                     Search = 1970s

WSLS-TV News Film Collection, 1951-1971

This collection contains both news reels and scripts from WSLS-TV in Roanoke, VA. These mid-20th century broadcasts were given to the University of Virginia Library for preservation and use. The resulting collection spans 1951 to 1971 and comprises approximately 13,000 clips of 16mm film shown during news programs. It also contains roughly 18,000 pages of the accompanying scripts read on air by anchorpersons.