Subject Guide
Research Resources and Tips
Before you begin:
- Make a list of search terms, and keep track of where you've searched!
- Organize your articles and websites. Consider using Refworks or Zotero!
Find Books
- Virgo: UVa Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch by project, site, or architect. Use "subject terms" like "wind resistant" or "earthquake resistant".
Databases
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowFind articles and book reviews in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning in journals from many countries. Coverage begins in the 1930s, but some journals are indexed back to the the 1860s. Many citations include abstracts.
- EBSCOHost Databases This link opens in a new windowSearch over 40 databases provided by Ebsco for a more interdisciplinary look at your topic.
- Earthquake Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new windowPart of Engineering Index. Search for articles and research reports relating to earthquake engineering and hazard mitigation. Most citations include abstracts
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowCombines the databases Compendex, Inspec, Inspec Archive, and NTIS with one search interface.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
On the Web
U.S. Geological Survey
Includes a great deal of information in the "Hazards" section
U.S. General Services Administration - Architecture & Engineering Portal
Includes a section on Seismic/Structural Engineering with many links to helpful resources (codes, standards, maps, etc.)
Earthquake Engineering Research University of California, Berkeley
MCEER - a national center of excellence dedicated to the discovery and development of new knowledge, tools and technologies that equip communities to become more disaster resilient