Skip to main content

HIST 4501 World War II

Introductory/Background Information

Subject encyclopedias can provide detailed and authoritative background information that can help you to begin your research. The articles can define terms, give an overview of a topic and suggest directions for narrowing your research. They can also provide bibliographies of books and articles for more in-depth research.

Encyclopedia of World War II: a Political, Social and Military History. 2005. Covers many aspects of the war. Each article has a bibliography. Vol. 5 contains key documents. Alderman Reference D 740 .E516 2005 5 vols.

Oxford Companion to World War II1995. Essentially a one-volume encyclopedia. Covearge may be better for certain topics (compare articles onn "Canada," for example). Alderman Reference D 740 .O93 1995. 

World War II in Europe: An Encyclopedia. 1999. Two-volume set, organized thematically, and hten alphabetically within theme. Volume 2 is especially good for describing weapons, equipment, and military operations.  Alderman Reference D 740 W67 1999.

Encyclopedia of the Holocaust. 1990. A bit dated, but still useful for background information. Covers many aspects of the Holocaust. Each article has a bibliography. Alderman Reference D 804.3 .E53 1990 3 vols.

Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos 1933-1945. Incredibly detailed work of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum (USHMM) describing the system of concentration camps and ghettos established by the Nazi regime. Each article includes source information, as well as notes referencing archival material held by the Holocaust Museum. Alderman Reference D 805 .A2 .U55 2009. Two parts, each two volumes. 

CQ Researcher -- In-depth reports on selected issues with lists of recommended books and articles, 1923-present. 

Finding Books

VIRGO-- The U.Va. Library Catalog 

Keyword search should be "Google-like," just enter whatever terms you want; no need for connectors like and.
Will search the title, author's name or description of the item.

There are also some Subject terms that indicate primary source materials: 

Archives*
Correspondence*
Diaries*
Facsimilies
Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
Pamphlets
Personal narratives (used in relation to specific events only) 
Songs and music
Sources 
Speeches, addresses, etc.*
Treaties

*Used with individuals' names,classes of persons (e.g., soldiers), and organizations.

VIRGO Classic In Basic Search mode choose "Begins With" and then select "Title" when searching for a known item, or "Subject" when searching for terms like Soviet Union will reveal related subject headings and different subdivisions--for example, Soviet Union--1917-1936--Politics and Government.

Google Books Searches the full text of thousands of books. If used in conjunction with Amazon.com full text search of a book, can get most of the text of a book. 

Finding Scholarly Articles

Finding Magazine and Newspaper Articles

Finding Primary Source Documents

Finding Images

ArtStor Images of world art from all periods, including paintings, drawings, prints, historic photographs, architecture and design. Tips on using ArtStor.

Getting Materials Not in U.Va. Library--Interlibrary Loan

Unavailable through VIRGO or unavailable in full-text via our article databases does not mean inaccessible or even seriously inconvenient. U.Va. Library has a great interlibrary loan service that should put the needed article in your inbox or the book in your hands within a few days of your requesting it.

Create an account with our Interlibrary Loan Department (log on as first-time user).