Religious Studies Library Resources
I Library Home Page Orientation. II Library Catalog (New VIRGO). III ATLA Religion Database. IV Religious Studies Library Guide. V. Contacts in the Library.
I. Library Home Page Orientation (www.lib.virginia.edu)
II. Library Catalog (Virgo)
III. ATLA Religion Database (focus on finding articles, not books)
IV. Religious Studies Library Guide. Click on University of Virginia Libraries logo in the upper right, then "Research Guides" under "Improve Your Research". Now in the Subject Guides section click on "browse all subject guides", then click on "Religious Studies". This guide lists useful databases, with the best choices in the right column of the page. The complete database list in the lower part of the right column includes brief annotations. Put your mouse on "Instruction and Resources" tab and then click on 2019 Religious Studies Library Resources. Now you see the script of this presentation.
V. Contact People in the Library at the University of Virginia
Back to the top
Or return to the Religious Studies Subject Guide
Created on August 22, 2019
Anthropology at the University of Virginia Library
Library Resources by Philip McEldowney
Date: Friday 31 August 2018 Place:Alderman Library Room 421 2:30 - 4:00 pm
Quick appetizers -- A. Finding material - the Three easy - Alderman Library with our catalog, the world catalog, databases
1. Tour of the Alderman floors and rooms || Print || 2. Library Catalog || 3. Databases || 4. Anthropology Subject Guide
Introduction. My role as Librarian for the Anthropology Department: maintain contact with the graduate students, undergraduates, and faculty, do training and instruction, assist in purchase requests, answer information requests, develop bibliographies, and perform other related services.
TODAY: --Point to resources. Follow along with me up front or on your own computer
--Encourage to ask questions as go along, or arise, even general questions
--email me, firstname.lastname@example.org
1. But first, let's go on a Tour of Alderman Library.
4th floor - Reference room, Desk for help and checkout, Zeta scanning, Scholars Lab,
3rd Floor for current periodicals, Government Docs and microfiche, newspapers, maps, graduate study room
2nd Floor McGregor (Harry Potter) room and Asia Studies Room
1M New Stacks = GNs. Most Anthropology books' call numbers start with GN, eg. GN24, GN29, GN, etc. and are located on Alderman 1M New Stacks A list of Anthropology call numbers.
A word about Print reference resources - encyclopedias, journals, monographs
2. The Library Catalog - VIRGO. (Bring up home page and VIRGO)
--This Library Home Page is a gateway to more than just catalog of books and articles: also databases; Hours, Subject Guides, under Services – Graduate Students, Ask a Librarian, etc.
VIRGO catalog - click on "Type in a keyword and you will get results for books (catalog) and articles. Click on "See all catalog results"
--Click on one book title to see all its information
Notice hot-linked Related Subjects, Names in the Left side
Along the top you can star or mark, email, export to RefWorks, Print (Don't do it, right now in class), etc.
--Search Articles and click on one article title to see all its information
--The Light Blue line at the top-- VIRGO Classic, Course Reserves
Go to VIRGO Classic Red Line or click on My Account in VIRGO (below)
If in VIRGO Classic, look at top Red Line - Services (Renew items), Requests for Interlibrary services, and Purchase
If in VIRGO's My Account - see how to A) Renew Books B) Make Interlibrary Loan Requests or C) Request a purchase of a book.
You can also explore more in the catalog; looking at a title make sure to look at the left column for further options and links. Check the availability at the bottom, and if checked out you might click on "Request Unavailable Item" In searches try using quotes to get specific, focused searches, eg "discourse analysis"
For article searching - you can sort results in various ways (Relevancy, etc)
Both the Catalog and the Article have Advanced Search pages, so you can search by Title, Author, Keyword, years, languages, etc.
Also check out Journal Finder as a good way to see if the library has a particular journal and how you might access it. Look for “Journal Finder” under the Research tab or click http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/journalfinder
3. Anthropology Subject Guide and Databases Back to Main Library Page and click on Research. . ., then click on Subject Guides and then Anthropology all databases and Anthropology databases
--Note about Off Grounds Access: to make access available from home/off-grounds, you will log in with Net Badge or with EZProzy or set up UVa Anywhere.
Databases - two types of 1) Full Text and 2) Citation only [3 - sometimes a combination] Coverage - recent and moving access.
To get the actual article - click on Find@UVa and get A) full text. B) If not, click to see journal title remembering article's date and page to get the print copy. C) If UVa does not have the journal, make an InterLibrary Loan Request (takes a week or so).
A. Anthropology Plus database Search, save or add to list, print, email, cite/Export. Find@UVa
B. Other databases Go to Databases A-Z
Academic Search Complete
America: History and Life
Bibliography of Asian Studies 1971+
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Historical Abstracts [all the world but North America since 1450]
MLA International Bibliography
Human Relations Area Files
Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe
PAO: Periodicals Articles Online
WorldCat: First Search (verification for ILL)
3. From the Library Home page and Databaeses
A. Anthropology Guide and databases
B. Purchase requests
C. InterLibrary Services and ILS requests Eg for books, articles, dissertations, etc
RefWorks: Access or look at Managing your Refworks
Back to the top
Return to Anthropology Library Resources