It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arts of Asia
Guide to resources for the Art of East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Himalayan Asia, and Central Asia.
Superstar Journals Database contains 6,500 full-text Chinese journals. It covers many disciplines including cultures, education, philosophy, social sciences, engineering, and medicine. This database not only provides users with the traditional PDF format, it also enables users to stream full articles and journals to their mobile devices.
CADAL originally grew out of a China-American Digital Academic Library venture. The current members include 80 plus Chinese universities, and scores of Indian universities, in addition to American universities, such. Carnegie Mellon, Harvard, Columbia, and other leading US university libraries.
Duxiu - 读秀This link opens in a new windowDuxiu is a discovery tool for Chinese books (2 millions+) and other types of resources. It allows a user to read sample pages of a book. The user can then request to have 50 pages or 20% of the book delivered electronically every week. Internet Explorer is recommended.
Please note that depending upon different publications’ copyright restrictions, not all resources found in Duxiu have the same level of content access.
SuperStar Digital Library - 超星数字图书馆This link opens in a new windowHundreds of thousands of Chinese books in all categories are scanned, many provided online for free. Especially valuable are numerous titles in local histories (地方志) throughout the country.
China Doctoral Dissertation & Masters' Theses Database (CDMD) 中国博硕论文全文数据库This link opens in a new windowCDMD contains nearly 450,000 doctoral dissertations and over 4.4 million master’s theses on a wide range of topics, including basic science, engineering and technology, agriculture, medicine, philosophy, and humanities and social sciences. Users can browse by subject or degree grantor, or search multiple fields in quick, basic, professional, fund or sentence search modes.
Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911~1949) Series 1-11 (民国时期期刊全文数据库)This link opens in a new windowThe Journal Database for the Republican Period (1911-1949) covers over 20,000 journal titles. The journal database contains information on all aspects of life, including political, economic, military, social, and livelihood. It provides first-hand information to study the history of the Republic China.
Late Qing Dynasty Periodical Full-text Database (1833～1911) (晚清期刊全文数据库)This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Shanghai Library, this database covers approximately 280,000 articles published in 302 Chinese-language periodicals between 1833 and 1911 in China. The collection includes almost all periodicals published during critical periods later known as the Opium Wars, Westernization Movement, Reform Movement of 1898 and Revolution of 1911. It contains the Women's Periodicals that advocated women's liberation and mental enlightenment, the Four Major Late Qing Dynasty Novel Journals as emerged during the great flourishing period of novels of the late Qing Dynasty, the Vernacular Chinese Periodicals founded to explore the people's mind and spread new knowledge, and the Science and Technology Periodicals which introduced new technologies and spread scientific knowledge.
China Press (1911～1949)This link opens in a new windowThe China Press was initiated by Chinese and founded by Americans. It adopted the American editing style and was the first known English newspaper published in modern China by professional journalists instead of businessmen or missionaries.
North-China Daily News & Herald Newspapers and Hong Lists (1850~1951) 字林洋行中英文报纸全文数据库This link opens in a new windowThis database covers the English and Chinese newspapers published by North-China Daily News & Herald, Limited, the largest British-founded press agency in Shanghai. Newspaper titles include The North-China Herald《北华捷报, The North-China Daily News《字林西报, The Chinese Shipping List & Advertiser《上海新报, Hu Bao《沪报, Han Bao《汉报, Xiao Xian Bao《消闲报, and The North-China Desk Hong List《字林西报行名录》published by the company. As an important part of the historical archives, this database provides valuable materials for the study of modern China.
Grand Secretariat Archives - 內閣大庫檔案This link opens in a new windowDatabase for Ming and Qing documents that include imperial decrees, edicts, memorials, documents from the offices of the Grand Secretariat, as well as various examination related documents. Many of the recorded administrative activities and legal cases cannot be found in Qing legal compendia.
Si ku quan shu (Wen yuan ge edition)- 四庫全書This link opens in a new windowCompiled 1773-1782 by edict from Emperor Qianlong, the collection contains 3,460 Chinese works in 36,000 volumes, including history, astronomy, geography, politics, economics, and more. Fully-searchable full-text. VPN required for off-Grounds access.
China Laws and Regulations DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThe China Laws & Regulations Database began in 1949, covering national laws and regulations, administrative regulations, local regulations, international treaties and practices, judicial interpretations, contract templates, etc., authoritative and professional. It is updated monthly, and the annual new addition is not less than 80,000.
China Statistical Yearbooks Database (CSYD) 中国经济社会发展统计数据库This link opens in a new windowChina Statistical Yearbooks (CSYD) contains all key statistical yearbooks published in mainland China, covering various types of census and survey data including analysis reports, statistical summaries, investment material, and data compilations. Content in CSYD is classified by 18 industries, 40 districts and 6 types of documents, and covers a wide range of economic, social, and environmental topics.
Content is in Chinese, with many headings and tables of contents translated into English. User introduction video link
A full list of those on IA can also be found here, while they can be accessed as a single Internet Archive collection through this link, although there are gaps). Yan He, with support from Kahang Kgau has also created an excellent map-based index of the material, which also has a useful table view.
The collection, ultimately comprising 500,000 pages from hundreds of titles published in China between 1912 and 1949, is hosted on East View’s GPA platform with robust search functionality for multi-language content.
The University of Hong Kong Libraries, with a rich collection of Hong Kong journals, developed this database with the objectives of facilitating efficient information retrieval and preserving archival materials.
The Fresh From the Archives series are informative portraits of archival holdings and other primary sources. They include insights from scholars who have recently worked with those materials and act as a collective repository of experiences in the archives.
Full text (PDF) of most US dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles. Access, provided through VIVA Consortium, is limited to 70 concurrent users.
Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.
News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, Washington Post, and The Guardian & The Observer.