Arts of Asia

Coverage: 1971 - present
Lists journal articles and book chapters on all subjects related to Asia. Most articles are in western languages. Includes book reviews.

Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides to a variety of subjects. UVa subscribes to all subjects.

A compilation of Buddhist technical terminology texts, temples, schools, persons, etc. that are found in East Asian Buddhist canonical sources. All general information and lists in both English and Chinese. The database includes the online version of the print publication: Dictionary of Chinese Buddhist terms, by Soothill and Hodous.

Search for books and articles in periodicals about Islam and the Muslim world. Also includes reviews.

The Third Edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is an entirely new and still unfinished work. It aims to provide short, up-to-date and accessible articles on many topics which are either not covered in EI2, or for which the EI2 articles are outdated. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world. EI3 does not replace EI2, which is more detailed and still authoritative; rather, the two should be used together.

Lists articles on all aspects of religious studies from journals in many disciplines. Includes citations to book chapters and to book reviews. ATLASerials adds the full text of many journals.

Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.

JSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The Archive Journal Collection is included.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research

Articles and art reproductions in all arts media from selected periodicals. Art Index Retro covers 1929-1984 and Art Index Full Text 1984-present. Abstracts are included from 1994 on; full-text of articles from some journals from 1997 on.

Find articles and book reviews in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning in journals from many countries. Coverage begins in the 1930s, but some journals are indexed back to the the 1860s. Many citations include abstracts.

Comprehensive encyclopedia of the visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific with links to tens of thousands of images.

Artstor is now on JSTOR.
Images of world art from all periods, including paintings, drawings, prints, historic photographs, architecture and design.

A large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.

Over 40 databases of journal articles, books, and other documents in many subject areas. Menu allows searching multiple databases at the same time