Welcome
Welcome to the Chinese Studies library portal. The portal provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your East Asian Studies Librarian is WEI WANG
Connect with Wei for help with your assignments. This service is available to all students doing research in East Asian Studies. Wei can help with capstone/thesis/dissertation planning, identifying relevant databases / journals for your literature reviews, developing search strategy, tracking down resources. Wei can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Selected e-resources in Chinese
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. These are the major databases in Chinese.
- SuperStar Journals Database - 超星期刊 This link opens in a new window Superstar Journals Database contains 6,500 full-text Chinese journals and more than 1,300 Core journals. It covers many disciplines including cultural, education, philosophy, social science, engineering, and medicine. This database not only provides users with the traditional PDF format, it also enables users to stream full articles and journals to their mobile devices.
- Duxiu - 读秀 This link opens in a new window Duxiu is a discovery tool for Chinese books (2 millions+) and other types of resources. It allows a user to read sample pages of a book. The user can then request to have 50 pages or 20% of the book delivered electronically every week. Internet Explorer is recommended.
- CADAL 大学数字图书馆国际合作计划 CADAL is a collection of scanned books (1.7 million in May 2013, 2.5 million in June 2014 ), both in and out of copyright: 224 thousand ancient texts (including the Xuxiu siku quanshu 续修四库全书), 150 thousand republican works, 150 thousand republican periodical issues, 40 thousand newspaper issues, 800 thousand post-1949 books, 320 thousand works in English, 13 thousand special collection works, 4 thousand videos, 55 thousand audiobooks. The collection is constantly increasing.
- National Palace Museum Periodicals Online This link opens in a new windowOnline access to the NPM Monthly of Chinese Art and NPM Research Quarterly.
- Late Qing Dynasty Periodical Full-text Database (1833～1911) (晚清期刊全文数据库) This link opens in a new window Produced by the Shanghai Library, this database covers approximately 280,000 articles published in 302 Chinese-language periodicals between 1833 and 1911 in China. The collection includes almost all periodicals published during critical periods later known as the Opium Wars, Westernization Movement, Reform Movement of 1898 and Revolution of 1911. It contains the Women's Periodicals that advocated women's liberation and mental enlightenment, the Four Major Late Qing Dynasty Novel Journals as emerged during the great flourishing period of novels of the late Qing Dynasty, the Vernacular Chinese Periodicals founded to explore the people's mind and spread new knowledge, and the Science and Technology Periodicals which introduced new technologies and spread scientific knowledge.
Search Virgo
Explore research guides
- Data and StatisticsThis guide contains information on important resources for locating current and historical data from a variety of sources, including national governments, international organizations, researchers, and research firms.
- Religious Studies Subject Guide PageLinks to databases chosen by the Religious Studies Subject Librarians, contact information for these librarians, and links to Religious etexts - Tanakh, Quran, Bible.