LibGuides: French Studies: 3a 6 Translation Studies

Translation Studies

_______________________________________________________________________________________________
Translation Studies

BITRA: Bibliography of Interpreting and Translation.
This free database indexes scholarship in the fields of Translation and Interpretting. It contains over 35,000 entires. Created and maintained by the faculty at the Universitat d'Alacant in Spain.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________
Language and Literature Databases

MLA International Bibliography.
Classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926
more...less...
Examples:
gsu("English language translation") and spanish
gsu("English language translation") and spanish and garcia marquez
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
Search for journal articles on all aspects of the nature and use of language. Includes book reviews. Updated monthly.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________
General Databases including useful information

Proquest (Portal - Megasearch)
AProQuest offers UVa faculty, staff, and students access to 51 separate databases, covering numerous fields from the hard sciences to social sciences, as well as newspapers, government records, and statistical data.
Academic Search Complete
Large general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches, images, and other primary source documents.

A Linguistic Handbook of French for Translators and Language Students | eBook |
Paul Boucher.. Amsterdam ; Philadelphia : John Benjamins Publishing Company,, 2018. xiv, 297 pages. ISBN: 9789027200617
more...less...
" "A Linguistic Handbook of French for Translators and Language Students' offers the reader an in-depth contrastive study of French and English based on recent theories of linguistics and discourse analysis. At the same time it is a practical manual for the advanced language student or the translator with dozens of exercises in analyzing and translating French along with detailed corrections.Organized in three sections - Structure, Perspective and Coherence - the handbook first explores French word formation and syntax, then moves on to the use of tense and aspect, illocution and speech styles in various text types. Finally, problems concerning textual coherence and cohesion in both languages are discussed: anaphora and ellipsis, relevance and equivalence and information structure. Each chapter is followed by a list of suggested readings for further discussion and a detailed glossary at the end of the book explains all technical terms used. The handbook is designed to be used either as a textbook or for individuals working at home."--
English-French Translation: A Practical Manual | eBook |
Christophe Gagne and Emilia Wilton-Godberfforde. London : Routledge,, 2021. xv, 198 pages. ISBN: 9781315731933
more...less...
"English-French Translation: A Practical Manual allows advanced learners of French to develop their translation and writing skills. This book provides a deeper understanding of French grammatical structures, the nuances of different styles and registers and helps increase knowledge of vocabulary and idiomatic language. The manual provides a wealth of practical tasks based around carefully selected extracts from the diverse text types students are likely to encounter; from literary and expository, to persuasive and journalistic. A mix of shorter targeted activities and lengthier translation pieces guide learners through the complexities and challenges of translation from English into French. This comprehensive manual is ideal for advanced undergraduate and postgraduate students in French language and translation"."
Thinking French Translation: A Course in Translation Method (2nd ed.) | eBook |
Sándor Hervey [and] Ian Higgins. London : Routledge, 2012 , xv, 287 pages, ISBN: 9780203167120
more...less...
"This new edition features material from business, law and literary texts. This is Essential reading for advanced undergraduates and postgraduate students of French, the book will also appeal to language students and tutors..
The Beginning Translator's Workbook: Or the ABCs of French to English Translation |eBook|
Michele H. Jones. Lanham, Maryland: University Press of America, 2014. xviii, 275 pages. Revised edition. ISBN: 9781306529624
more...less...
This workbook combines methodology and practice for beginning translators with a solid proficiency in French. The revised edition clarifies some of the finer points of the translation techniques introduced in the first edition, provides extra practice exercises, and offers information on a website that can be used in class.
Approche linguistique des problèmes de traduction anglais--français | Print |
Hélène Chuquet, Michel Paillard, Gap :Ophrys, 2010, 2nd edition. 460 pages. Edition révisée. ISBN: 9782708005709
Apprendre à traduire [eBook]
cahier d'exercices pour l'apprentissage de la traduction français-anglais anglais-français.
Valentine Watson Rodger. Toronto : Canadian Scholars' Press, 2004. xxi, 252 pages. 3e éd. rev et mise à jour.. ISBN: 9781417584598
more...less...
: For anglophone students in the third year of the French programme in Canadian universities.
Translation studies | eBook |
Susan Bassnett-McGuire. London ; New York : Routledge, 2002. 3rd edition. 176 pages. ISBN: 9780415280136
more...less...
"Central Issues. Types of translation. Language and culture. Decoding and recoding. Problems of equivalence. Loss and gain. Untranslatability. Science or 'secondary activity'? -- 2. History of Translation Theory. Problems of 'period study'. The Romans. Bible translation. Education and the vernacular. Early theorists. The Renaissance. The seventeenth century. The eighteenth century. Romanticism. Post-Romanticism. The Victorians. Archaizing. The twentieth century -- 3. Specific Problems of Literary Translation. Structures. Poetry and translation. Translating prose. Translating dramatic texts -- Appendix: The original text of The Seafarer.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________
Theory and perspectives

Traduction Audiovisuelle et Multilinguisme: Le Français Dans les séries Anglophones | Print |
Julie Loison-Charles.. Arras : Artois presses université, 2022. 231 pages. ISBN: 9782848325507
more...less...
"Dans les séries anglophones, le français est employé de manière prédominante. Cette situation linguistique est cependant un vrai casse-tête pour les adaptateurs chargés de la VF : comment traduire le français en français ?00Au-delà du traitement de la question déjà proposé par la traductologie, cet ouvrage associe une approche théorique du multilinguisme en traduction audiovisuelle et une typologie des solutions adoptées dans le doublage d'une quarantaine de séries.00Les scènes étudiées sont issues de séries américaines, britanniques et canadiennes. La plupart sont très récentes, comme Emily in Paris ou The Crown, mais certaines séries des années 1990 ou 2000, à l'instar de Friends ou de Sex and the City, sont également convoquées. Plusieurs styles sont représentés : sitcom (The Big Bang Theory), série historique (The Tudors), science-fiction (DoctorWho), série judiciaire (TheGood Wife), policière (NCIS), espionnage (Homeland), etc. Le doublage est à l'honneur dans ce livre, mais quelques références sont faites au sous-titrage, notamment pour évoquer son rôle dans la complicité établie avec le spectateur (langues inventées employées dans Star Trek et Game of Thrones par exemple)."--"
Mondialisation, Localisation, Francophonie(s) | Print |
Direction Daniel Gouadec. Paris : Maison du dictionnaire,, 2004. 2 volumes in 1 (230, 60 pages). ISBN: 9782856081846
more...less...
Vol. 1. Actes des universités d'été et d'automne 2003. Actes du colloque international "Traduction et francophonie(s); traduire en francophonie". -- v. 2. Actes du colloque international de l'aele "Mondialisation, localisation et normes comptables internationales."
Traduction et culture : France-Îles britanniques | eBook |
Sous la direction de Jean-Philippe Genet.. Paris : Classiques Garnier, 2018. 278, pages. ISBN: 9782406080824
more...less...
"Les linguistes savent que faire passer un texte d'une langue à une autre est une opération complexe, mais la traduction est aussi un riche terrain d'observation pour l'historien. Centré sur la France et l'Angleterre, ce volume montre comment, par la traduction du latin aux vernaculaires, se transmet la culture de l'élite cléricale aux laïcs. Mais les choses se passent différemment en France et en Angleterre. C'est aussi par la traduction que s'exercent les influences religieuses, littéraires et politiques, d'autant qu'elle ne transmet pas seulement un texte, mais aussi des éléments de la culture et de la civilisation qui l'ont produit. Dans les conditions modernes de l'édition, la traduction devient un marché et un enjeu dans la guerre des langues."--Page 4 of cover.
Déverbaliser-reverbaliser: | eBook |
La Traduction Comme Acte de Violence Ou Comme Manipulation du Sens?
sous la direction de Svetlana Vogeleer et Laurent Béghin. Bruxelles : Pressse de l'Université Saint-Louis, 2020. 253 p. ISBN: 9782802802501
more...less...
Souvent traitée, au cours de l'histoire, comme acte de violence à l'égard du texte original et/ou de la langue d'accueil, la traduction est envisagée dans ce volume comme deux opérations de manipulation du sens - comprendre (déverbaliser) et exprimer (reverbaliser) - qui engagent inévitablement la subjectivité du traducteur. Dans des cadres théoriques différents, les auteurs réfléchissent à la mouvance des concepts et des mots qui les désignent en sciences humaines, à l'influence des traductions sur l'évolution du français aux XIVe-XVIe siècles, à l'interprétation du dit et du vouloir-dire par le traducteur et par l'interprète, à la manière dont la forme participe au sens en traduction de la poésie, à l'éclairage que les sciences neurocognitives apportent sur les deux opérations de traduction. L'ouvrage s'adresse aux étudiants de traduction-interprétation et de lettres, aux traductologues, linguistes et chercheurs en littérature et à tous ceux qui s'intéressent aux aspects subjectifs de la traduction.--Provided by publisher.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Selective list of books on French Translation Studies present in our library

Here we provide you with a selective list of material found in our library. In order to discover all material on French Translation Studies, you will have to carry out broader searches on our library catalog: Virgo..

If you want to discover books published but not present in our library, you can perform searches in Worldcat using the same subjects included here.

List of Library of Congress related subjects:

French language -- Translating.
Translating and interpreting AND French
French language -- Translating into English
English language -- Translating into French.
Language and culture -- France

Index Translationum
The database contains cumulative bibliographical information on books translated and published in about one hundred of the UNESCO Member States between 1979 and 2009 and totals more than 2.000.000 entries in all disciplines: literature, social and human sciences, natural and exact sciences, art, history and so forth.
WorldCat (OCLC)
WorldCat is a union catalog that itemizes the collections of 72,000 libraries in 170 countries and territories that participate in the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) global cooperative.
more...less...
Examples: subject: Translating and interpreting and subject: : Spanish

_______________________________________________________________________________________________
English language

Oxford English Dictionary: OED Online.
Has definitions for most of the words in the English language but also information on their origins and quotations showing their range of meanings from the time they entered the language to the present.
Dictionary of American Regional English
DARE focuses on the regional aspects of American English, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another. This online version provides interactive maps, audio field recordings, and fielded searching.

If you need to find more English language resources, please consult : The English language and literature Subject guide _______________________________________________________________________________________________

Language reference

Language Realm
The Language Realm is devoted to providing information about language, linguistics, translation, interpretation, language learning, and communications, as well as specific content for English, Spanish, French, German, Latin, Japanese, and Chinese.
more...less...
The mission of the Language Realm is to offer fascinating articles and information about language in general, and the Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Latin, and Spanish languages in particular. In addition, the Language Realm also offers complete, current information about the translation and interpretation professions, machine translation, and linguistics
Linguee
Linguee is an online bilingual concordance that provides an online dictionary for a number of language pairs, including many bilingual sentence pairs. As a translation aid, Linguee differs from machine translation services like Babelfish and is more similar in function to a translation memory. Linguee is operated by Cologne-based Linguee GmbH, which was established in Cologne in December 2008.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________
Journals

TranscUlturAl a journal of translation and cultural studies
Edmonton, Alta. : Univ of Alberta. 2008-
TRANS. Revista de Traductología
Universidad de Malaga, 1996-
more...less...
Difunde trabajos científicos de diversa procedencia relacionados con las diferentes manifestaciones de la interpretación y traducción de lenguas, de la traducción audiovisual, de la traducción intersemiótica, del contacto entre culturas y de la retórica comparada.

French Studies

Other Related Subjects

Translation Studies

Scholarship

Manuals

Finding a work

Anglo Resources

Associations, Centers, Journals, etc.

Selective list of books on French Translation Studies present in our library

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites