Subject Guide
Interlibrary Services
Although the Library owns or has access to many items, there will be times that you need something not owned. When this occurs, you can ask us to borrow the item or obtain a copy of an article from another library. To use this service you must be a faculty, staff or student at UVa and you must complete a brief registration with the ILS service. Please see one of the following links for more information:
JournalGuide
JournalGuide is a new tool to help academics find the best journal for their manuscripts. Using a central information hub containing primary data from journals, secondary information from public sources, and perhaps most importantly, the shared experiences of researchers who have previously submitted papers to those journals, JournalGuide helps researchers to quickly evaluate scholarly journals in order to determine which ones reach their intended audience and, therefore, represent the best match for the content of their manuscript. - JournalGuide Press Release
Go to JournalGuide
Scholarly Metrics
The links below will take you to guide pages detailing how authors can track the impact of their publications.
- Tracking Your Publications (The Johns Hopkins University Library)A guide page detailing how to track the impact of your scholarly publications.
All Mathematics Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window1887-present
Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. - arXiv This link opens in a new windowOpen access to hundreds of thousands of e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
- Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1925, Royal Society of LondonThis 19-volume series indexes some 700 mathematical and scientific journals from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Located in the Ivy Stacks (and not available online). The volumes can be requested here. Note: The first 17 volumes (through 1900) are freely available online via the Biodiversity Heritage Library at this link.
- INSPEC This link opens in a new window(1969-present) Scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering.
- INSPEC Archive Science Abstracts (1898-1968) This link opens in a new window(1898-1968) The Inspec Archive Science Abstracts provides access to 71 years of science abstracts in the fields of physics, electrical engineering, and control technology. This database includes the accompanying tables, graphs and diagrams when available
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present. Now also includes books.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new window1940-presentFrom the American Mathematical Society, this database is based on the data in Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, leading publications that catalog and review research literature in mathematics.
- Nouvelles annales de mathématiques, journal des candidats aux écoles polytechnique et normaleIndexes and makes available online mathematics articles from 1852-1927. Includes as a supplement the Bulletin de Bibliographie, d'Histoire et de Biographie Mathématiques.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowProQuest offers UVa faculty, staff, and students access to 51 separate databases, covering numerous fields from the hard sciences to social sciences, as well as newspapers, government records, and statistical data.
- SIAM: Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics This link opens in a new window1997-present
Journals on applied mathematics, mathematics, systems, and control. Electronic editions are published well ahead of the print versions. Includes book reviews. - Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIndexes a wide range of scientific and mathematics literature, allowing access and searching through a single portal.
- zbMATH Open: Zentralblatt fur Mathematik This link opens in a new windowZentralblatt MATH (zbMATH Open) is the world’s most comprehensive and longest running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. It contains more than 3 million bibliographic entries with reviews or abstracts currently drawn from more than 3,000 journals and serials, and 170,000 books. The coverage starts in 1826 and is complete from 1868 to the present by the integration of the “Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik” database.
Find@UVa Button
Use the Find@UVA button in your database search results to search for the full text of that journal article online. The results may sometimes look a little confusing, so don't hesitate to ask for help!
Newspapers
The Library maintains subscriptions and access to a wide variety of domestic and foreign newspapers and news sources. For information about available newspapers please see the guide page below.