Science, Technology, and Society

Big Data & Society (BD&S) is an Open Access peer-reviewed scholarly journal that publishes interdisciplinary work principally in the social sciences, humanities and computing and their intersections with the arts and natural sciences about the implications of Big Data for societies.

A peer-reviewed, bi-monthly journal that provides a means of communication within as wide of a spectrum of the STS community as possible, including faculty and students from sciences, engineering, the humanities, and social science.

Also available in print at the Brown Science and Engineering Library.

Access to 1999 to Jan 2020
"A peer-reviewed, international journal dedicated to the study of traditional and modern East Asian science, technology, and medicine. .... focuses on original research using Chinese, Japanese, Korean, or Vietnamese primary sources or artifacts."

Access to 2007 to Present
"An interdisciplinary quarterly journal... committed to the promotion and advancement of the study of science, technology and society in East Asia."

"Sponsored by the Ministry of Science and Technology, Taiwan, EASTS aims to bring together East Asian and Western scholars from the fields of science, technology, and society (STS). ...the journal publishes research on how society and culture in East Asia interact with science, technology, and medicine."

"The centrality of science and technology in social life means there is a vital space for scholars of science, technology, and society to intervene in meaningful ways in discussions of the most crucial issues of the day. Engaging Science, Technology, and Society is intended as a vibrant, double-blind peer-reviewed venue for these conversations."

2015 to Present
"An open access (OA) journal for cultivating, evaluating, and sharing cutting-edge research in the social studies of science, technology, and medicine in transnational contexts. ESTS publishes peer-reviewed articles, thematic collections, and a wide variety of short-form writing."

Focused on history, H-Sci-Med-Tech offers the ability for scholars around the world to upload a variety of different types of materials from article notes to conference proceedings, and creates a network that allows discussion. The focus of the network includes a blending of the humanities and social sciences with areas of science, medicine, and technology with no limitation in terms of time period or geographic location.

Focuses on the impact of technology on society, the impact of society on the engineering profession, the history of the societal aspects of electrotechnology, and professional, social, and economic responsibility in the practice of engineering and its related technology.

Also available in print at the Brown Science and Engineering Library.

Indexes articles, books, and dissertations in the history of science. Each issue begins with topical articles providing in-depth coverage of leading issues in the history of science. Coverage is from 1913-present.

A peer-reviewed international journal focused on a critical analysis of engineers and engineering across a spectrum of focuses.

This title is NOT included in the UVa Library's subscriptions. For any articles that are not offered as free access, please request them through the Library's ILL service at: http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/ils/

[Librarian Note: Please do not pay for access to these articles, guys! Go through ILS or email the STS Librarian and the library will borrow copies for you - for free! Since they're all online, we can get you a copy about 2-4 days]

Focused on knowledge-based innovation with cross-disciplinary perspectives to responsible innovation. Topics covered include ethics, governance, sustainability, socio-technical integration, risk, environmental health and safety, as well as human and social dimensions of innovation.

A scholarly journal focused on both the historical and current practice of science and academic institutions. Also deals with the interactions of such institutions with various internal and outside pressures.

Provides a forum for informed discussion of ethical and social concerns related to nanotechnology, and a counterbalance to fragmented popular discussion.
There are multiple options for accessing articles from the link. Chose the one with the greatest date range to get the most options for articles (either Springer link).

published five times a year and discusses issues in the philosophy of science from diverse standpoints. The link takes you directly to JSTOR where you can search for articles.

A peer-reviewed international journal that is published quarterly covering all topics related to the sciences and the public.

Published since 1880 by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, this journal is one of the most highly ranked journals in the field.

Access to 2012 to Present.
"An international peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the advancement of scholarly studies of science and technology as socio-material phenomena, including their historical and contemporary production and their associated forms of knowledge, expertise, social organization and controversy."

Access to 1999 to Present
"An international journal devoted to the study of science and technology in social context. It focuses on the way in which advances in science and technology influence society and vice versa. It is a peer-reviewed journal that takes an interdisciplinary perspective, encouraging analyses whose approaches are drawn from a variety of disciplines such as history, sociology, philosophy, economics, political science and international relations, science policy involving innovation, foresight studies involving science and technology, technology management, environmental studies, energy studies and gender studies."

A peer-reviewed, bi-monthly, international, interdisciplinary journal containing research, analyses and commentary on the development and dynamics of science and technology, including their relationship to politics, society and culture.

A multidisciplinary journal that explores ethical issues of direct concern to scientists and engineers. Coverage encompasses professional education, standards, and ethics in research and practice, extending to the effects of innovation on society at large.

"Our culture is a scientific one, defining what is natural and what is rational. Its values can be seen in what are sought out as facts and made as artefacts, what are designed as processes and products, and what are forged as weapons and filmed as wonders. In our daily experience, power is exercised through expertise, e.g. in science, technology and medicine. Science as Culture explores how all these shape the values which contend for influence over the wider society."

An open source, peer-reviewed journal that features philosophical and social science perspectives on the creation of knowledge.
Operative in collaboration with the The Society for Social Studies of Science (4S) and the European Association for the Study of Science and Technology (EASST)

A peer-reviewed journal, publishing work from a range of fields including: political science, sociology, economics, history, philosophy, psychology social anthropology, legal and educational disciplines.

Deals with global issues of sustainability that intersect both human impact and social concerns to address the 21st century challenges for sustainability.

Access to 2018 to Present
"An international open access journal seeking to enable a network of STS-informed conversations within Latin America, between Latin America and Euro-American cultures, and across global peripheries. It seeks to increase the complexity of the STS scholarly landscape by pushing conventional STS boundaries to include issues, perspectives and methods relevant to Latin America."

Focused on publication on diverse articles on the history of technology from multidisciplinary points of view. The official journal for the Society for the History of Technology.

An international and cross-discipline journal focused on a variety of concerns pertaining to technology and society that include policy, economics, ethics, management, assessment, forecasting and more.