Writing APA References and In-Text Citations
- APA Blog**The APA blog is produced by APA. It is the most authoritative web site for APA information whether it is references, in-text citations or APA style questions such as information about headers. It provides examples of how to cite books, journals, in-text citations, blogs and more. Enter your keyword(s) in the search box at the top right of the site, for example: in-text citation.
- Purdue University's APA Owl Guide for APAThis site gives quick examples of various was to write APA references and in-text citations. It also provides examples for writing in APA Style.
- APA In-Text CitationsGreat examples of in-text citations.
- APA In-TEXT Citations (2 minute video)The 2-minute video shows how to create in-text citations (parentheticals) when you use APA style formatting.
Resources to Help You Write in APA Style
UVA's Curry School encourages students to use the APA style when writing papers and dissertations, however, other bibliographic styles may be required by Curry or other UVA schools, so be sure to confirm the required style with your faculty member.
- APA ManualThe core resource for APA Style is the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (aka The APA Manual). There is a copy of the manual in the Library Data Commons, Room 302 in Ruffner Hall. The call number is BF76.7 .P83. Additional copies of the manual in other libraries are also available. It has instructions for writing titles and abstracts for your papers and articles, as well as giving examples of proper terminology and reference citations.
- APA TutorialGet a solid overview of the APA paper writing process.
- Presenting Your Findings byPublication Date: 2010This book provides invaluable guidance on the proper table format for a wide range of statistical analyses in an engaging and accessible format.
- Displaying Your Findings byPublication Date: 2010This book provides essential guidance on creating figures that effectively present findings, presenting conference posters, and presentations.
Formatting and Writing Your Paper Using APA Style
- Formatting Headers in APA Style by the Purdue OWLAPA Style uses a unique headings system to separate and classify paper sections. There are 5 heading levels in APA.
- APA TutorialThe tutorial shows you how to format your APA paper and cite correctly. Includes instructions for sections, headers, type fonts, and more.
- APA SIMPLIFIED (click to read this book)"This is a compact but comprehensive guide to writing clearly and effectively in APA style. Demonstrates how to write objective scientific research papers using interesting prose Incorporates guidelines from the 6th edition of the APA publication manual Explores how to develop ideas, connect them to what others have written, and express them clearly." --publisher. When you finish reading this ebook, please click on the LOGOFF button in the top right of the screen .
- Sample Research Papers Written in APA StyleShows page formatting, headings, citations, quotations, graphs, and more.
- Writing Clearly: Non Biased WritingThis supplemental material from the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual provides guidelines for reducing bias when talking about disabilities.
- Mastering APA (site created by the APA)This quiz provides questions and answers to major rules about APA including including what should be in your paper's introduction, methods, and conclusion sections.
- APA Style Tips (site created by the APA)Examples and tips about various aspects of APA style.
Digital Object Identifiers
- Find Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) for Your APA CitationsWhen you submit a manuscript for publication, you must include Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) for all of the references that have a DOI assigned. To get DOIs, use the free service, CrossRef. You will need to register for a free account. Do note that to get the DOIs, you can paste all of your references at one time into the CrossRef search box or you can do one reference at a time. If there is a DOI for the articles, it will display in the results box. A digital object identifier (DOI) is a unique alphanumeric string assigned by a registration agency (the International DOI Foundation) to identify content and provide a persistent link to its location on the Internet. The publisher assigns a DOI when your article is published and made available electronically.
Example:
Muldoon, K., Towse, J., Simms, V., Perra, O., & Menzies, V. (2012). A longitudinal analysis of estimation, counting skills, and mathematical ability across the first school year. Developmental Psychology. Advance online publication. doi:10.1037/a0028240
Use RefWorks Software To Create APA Citations, Store and Manage Your Citations, and Write Using APA
RefWorks is a software application that automatically creates citations. Use it to:
- download article citations from databases and keep them in RefWorks.
- format bibliographies and in-text citations automatically in over 400 bibliographic styles including APA, American Medical Association, etc.
- use in conjunction with WORD to write papers, dissertations, etc.
- create a RefWorks database and share it with colleagues around the world.
RefWorks Information Specific to UVA
Email or call 434.982-2664 to schedule a one-on-one tutorial.
Off-Grounds group code for RefWorks is RWUVirginia (note upper and lower case fonts).
Use RefWorks Software To Create APA Citations, Store and Manage Your Citations, and Write Using APA
RefWorks is a software application that automatically creates citations. Use it to:
- download article citations from databases and keep them in RefWorks.
- format bibliographies and in-text citations automatically in over 400 bibliographic styles including APA, American Medical Association, etc.
- use in conjunction with WORD to write papers, dissertations, etc.
- create a RefWorks database and share it with colleagues around the world.
RefWorks Information Specific to UVA
Email or call 434.982-2664 to schedule a one-on-one tutorial.
Off-Grounds group code for RefWorks is RWUVirginia (note upper and lower case fonts).
What is Plagiarism?
Common examples of plagiarism include: - Self Plagiarism see http://ori.hhs.gov/plagiarism-13
- copying someone else's words without using quotation marks and crediting the source from where it came
- paraphrasing or summarizing someone else's words without citing the source
- quoting someone inaccurately
- restating someone's original or specialized ideas without citing the source
- accidentally or intentionally misrepresenting someone else's words or ideas
- citing the wrong source
- pretending someone else's work is your own
Note: Text isn't the only thing that can be plagiarized. You also must credit the sources of images, graphics, charts, drawings, video, music, etc.
UVA Honor Code
- UVA Honor Code"The University of Virginia’s Honor Code is at once an injunction and an aspiration. The injunction is simple: students pledge never to lie, cheat, or steal, and accept that the consequence for breaking this pledge is permanent dismissal from the University." --UVA Honor Code
- UVA Honor CommitteeLearn the rules and your rights regarding academic integrity in writing, project creation, and more. Be sure to view the Resources tab. including translations of the content in Chinese and French with plans for additional languages.
- Best Practices: Defining and Avoiding PlagiarismBest practices for faculty, students, and the administration to avoid plagiarism. Linked from UVA Honor Committee web site.
APA Infographic
