Slavic Languages and Literatures

Where can I find materials on Poland?

You can find Polish materials under the following call numbers in Shannon Library:

DK 400, 4000: History: Poland
JN 6750-6769: Political Institutions and Public Administration (Europe): Poland
LF 4203-4209: Education: Individual Institutions (Europe): Poland
PG 6001-7446: Polish Language and Literature

Where do I search for materials on Russian language and literature held in other research libraries?

WorldCat

You may request materials not held in U.Va. libraries through Interlibrary Services.

Where do I search for dissertation titles, abstracts and excerpts?

Digital Dissertations

Poland: Internet Resources

• General Information: Poland Official Website
• News Media: Radio Poland, Polska Agencja Prasowa, TV Polonia
• Newspapers and Journals: Gazeta Wyborcza, Nowy dziennik, Tygodnik Solidarność, Newsweek Polska, New Poland Express (in English)
• Libraries and Archives: Biblioteka Narodowa (Polish National Library), Biblioteka Jagiellońska (Jagiellonian University Library), Naczelna Dyrekcja Archiwów Państwowych (Polish State Archive), PIASA Archives (Polish Institute of Arts & Sciences of America) 

Polish Language: Internet Resources

• Overview of Polish Grammar (Slavic and East European Language Resource Center, SEELRC)
• AATSEEL List of Intensive Polish Language Programs
• Słownik Języka Polskiego
• Polska Bibliografia Literacka 

Polish Literature: Internet Resources

• Virtual Library of Polish Literature (Sponsored by the Institute of Polish Philology at the University of Gdansk, in cooperation with the Polish National Commission for UNESCO)
• Index of Links to Websites about Polish Literature (Sponsored by the Polish Academic Information Center at the University of Buffalo, NY, this site provides annotated links to Poland-related information.)
• Old Polish Literature (An academic and educational project concerned with early modern Polish literature. Includes an e-library of classical Polish writings with English translations and an Old Polish Dictionary)
• Institute of the Book (Krakow) (Created in 2004 by the Polish Ministry of Culture. Located in Krakow, the Institute is designed to provide news and information about Polish literature, sponsor literary events, and to encourage the translation of Polish literature.)
• Polish Library in Washington D.C. (A circulating library serving the needs of the Polish community in Metropolitan Washington as well as Polish-Americans and others interested in Polish literature, culture, history, and present day Poland. The collection includes over 7,000 books and 250 films)
• Polish Literature in English Translation (An online bibliography of major Polish literature, organized by century and intended for academics and the general public.)