Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Slavic Languages and Literatures

Collections Guide: Russian Materials

Where can I find books and journals on Russian language and literature?

The Slavic Languages and Literatures Collection is located in Alderman Library. All items in the collection are cataloged in the VIRGO Online Catalog. Slavic languages and literatures materials are found in the subclass PG, according to the Library of Congress Classification, located on the second floor mezzanine level of the new stacks (2M New Section).

Less-commonly used Slavic materials are located in the Ivy Stacks Storage Facility. When searching VIRGO, if you find that a book is located in the Ivy Stacks, click on “Request Item,” and the book will be delivered to Alderman for you. Ivy Stacks has facilities for on-site research by appointment only. To set up an appointment, contact the Ivy Stacks Manager by phone at (434) 924-0982, or by e-mail at lib-ivy@virginia.edu.

Where can I find Russian reference print materials in the Alderman Library?

In the Alderman Library Reference Room on the Fourth Floor (East)

Where can I browse Russian language and literature journals in the Alderman Library?

In the Alderman Periodicals room on the Third Floor (East)

Russian language and literature journal titles with current issues available for browsing include:

Australian Slavonic and East European Studies, PG 1.A9 (2007-present)

Canadian Slavonic Papers, PG 6 .C3 (2010-present)

Novyi zhurnal, AP50 .N685 (Current issue only) 

Revue des études slaves, PG 1.R4 (Current issue only)

Slavonic and East European Review, D377.A1 S65 (2014-present)

Zeitschrift für Slawistik, PG 1.Z43 (2009-present)


Russian language and literature journal titles that are held in the Alderman Stacks OR Ivy Annex: 

Australian Slavonic and East European Studies, PG 1.A9 (1987-2006)

Canadian Slavonic Papers, PG 6 .C3 (1956-2009)

Druzhba narodov, PN6065 .R9 D7

Glas New Russian Writing: Contemporary Russian Literature in Translation, PG 3199 .G5713

Nabokov Studies, PG 3476 .N3 Z4586

Novoe literaturnoe obozrenie, PG 2900.N685 (1992-2008; beginning with 2010, issues only available online through ViRGO)

Novyi zhurnal, AP50 .N685 (2000-2013; 1943-1999 are in IVY ANNEX)

Revue des études slaves, PG 1.R4 (1921-2007)

Rusistika, PG 2001.R82

Russian Linguistics, PG2001 .R85 (1974-2004; all issues 1974-present available online at http://www.springerlink.com/openurl.asp?genre=journal&issn=0304-3487)

Russian Literature, PG 2900 .A1 R9 (1973-2008; issues 2012-present available online at http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/journal/03043479)

Russian Studies in Literature, PN 2 .S6

Russkaia literatura (Institut russkoi literatury), PG2900 .R85

Slavic and East European Journal, PG 38.U6A5

Slavic and East European Information Resources, Z292.7 .S58 (2005-2007; issues 2000-present available online at http://www.tandfonline.com.proxy.its.virginia.edu/loi/wsee20#.VoxRnPkrKUk)

Slavonic and East European Review, D377.A1 S65 (1928-2013 are in IVY ANNEX)

Studia Slavica, Academiae Scientiarum Hungarica, PG1 .S8

Tolstoy Studies Journal, PG3370 .T65

Wiener slawistischer Almanach, PG 1.W53

Zeitschrift für Slavische Philologie, PG 1.Z4

Zeitschrift für Slawistik, PG 1.Z43 (1974-2008)

Where can I find Russian literary journals online?

 Zhurnal’nyi zal: Elektronnaia biblioteka sovremennykh literaturnykh zhurnalov Rossii

Where do I search for materials on Russian language and literature held in other research libraries?

WorldCat

You may request materials not held in U.Va. libraries through Interlibrary Services.

Where do I search for dissertation titles, abstracts and excerpts?

Digital Dissertations

Slavic microforms in the Alderman Library

Microform holdings in the collection are located on the Third Floor (East)

Guide to selected Slavic microform resources

Russian Materials in Other U.Va. Libraries

Clemons Library

Russian films, videotapes, laser discs, and DVDs.

Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library

Print and digital resources on Russian art and architecture.

ARTStor (scroll down and click on the folder titled "Russia")

The Music Library

The Music Library holds a variety of materials on Russian music. A highlight of the collection is the Alfred Julius Swan Music Collection of Russian monographs, scores and serials, which includes correspondence of prominent members of the Russian intelligentsia, including Sergei Rachmaninoff, Sergei Prokofiev, Nicholas Medtner, Pavel Chesnokov, and Alexandra Tolstoy.

Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library

The Special Collections Library holds rare books and manuscripts. Notable in the collection are the Sir Fitzroy Maclean papers, which were obtained from the Maclean estate in December 1998. Maclean was Winston Churchill’s liaison with Marshall Tito in Yugoslavia during the Second World War. A guide to the papers can be found by searching the Virginia Heritage Database (select "University of Virginia, Special Collections" from the drop-down menu to the right of the search bar).

Books and media resources in Russian and East European languages (and in English translation) are also located in the Darden School of Business Camp Library, the Charles L. Brown Science and Engineering Library, the Education Library, the Health Sciences Library, and the Virginia Law School Library.