Understanding Difference

Books, Essays, and Poetry:

• Allis, Elizabeth. The Great Power of Small Nations: Indigenous Diplomacy in the Gulf South. Online
• Berkhofer, Jr., Robert F. The White Man's Indian: Images of the American Indian From Columbus to the Present. Call Number: E98.P99 B47 1978.
• Blackhawk, Ned. The Rediscovery of America: Native Peoples and the Unmaking of U.S.
  • Violence over the Land: Indians and Empires in the Early American West.
• Brooks, Lisa Our Beloved Kin: A New History of King Phillips War. 
• Callowway, Collin G. The Victory with No Name: The Native American Defeat of the First American Army.
  • The Indian World of George Washington: The First President, The First Americans, and the Birth of a Nation.
• Deloria, Phillip J. Playing Indian. Call Number: E98.P99 D45 1998
• Deloria, Vine Custer Died for Your Sins: An Indian Manifesto. Call Number: E93.D36 1988
• Dowd, Gregory Evans. War Under Heaven: Pontiac, the Indian Nations, and the British Empire.
• DuVal, Kathleen. The Native Ground: Indians and Colonists in the Heart of the Continent. Online
  • Independence Lost: Lives on the Edge of the America Revolution. Online
• Hamalainen, Pekka. The Comanche Empire.
• Hinderaker, Eric. The Two Hendricks: Unraveling a Mohawk Mystery.
• Kruer, Matthew. Time of Anarchy: Indigenous Power and the Crisis of Colonialism in Early America.
• Lepore, Jill. In the Name of War: King Phillip's War and the Origins of American Identity. Call Number: E87.876.L46 1998
• McMillen, Christen. Making Indian Law: The Hualapai Land Case and the Birth of Ethnohistory. Online
• Merrell, James H. Into the American Woods: Negotiators on the Pennsylvania Frontier.
  • The Indians' New World: Catawbas and Their Neighbors From European Contact Through the Era of Removal. Online
• Nelson, Megan-Kate. The Three Cornered War: The Union, The Confederacy, and The Native Peoples in the Fight for the West.
• Ortiz, Roxanne Dunbar. An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States. Online
• Reid, Joshua The Sea Is My Country: The Maritime World of the Makahs, an Indigenous Borderlands People
• Resendez, Andres. The Other Slavery : The Uncovered Story of Indian Enslavement in America. Online
• Richter, Daniel. Facing East From Indian Country: A Native History of Early America. Online
• Saunt, Claudio. Unworthy Republic: The Dispossession of Native Americans and the Road to Indian Country. Call Number: E98.R4 S38 2020.
  • West of the Revolution: An Uncommon History of 1776.
• Smith, Paul Chaat and Warrior, Robert Allen. Like a Hurricane: The Indian Movement From Alcatraz to Wounded Knee. Call Number: E98.S655 1996.
  • Parading Through History: The Making of the Crow Nation in America, 1805-1935. Call Number: E99.C92 H69 1995
• West, Eliot. The Last Indian War: The Nez Perce Story.
• Wilkens, David. American Indian Sovereignty and the U.S. Supreme Court. Online
• White, Richard. The Middle Ground Indians, Empires, and Republics in the Great Lakes Region, 1650-1815.

Music and Film

• The Aila Test evaluates representation of Indigenous women in media Based on the Bechdel Test, the Aila Test asks questions to determine how Indigenous women are represented in a movie.
• Indigenous Music Countdown - The Indigenous Music Countdown, hosted by Roz McIvor, presents new Indigenous music and shares interviews from artists representing a range of genres including hip-hop, rock, country, alternative, rock, folk and pop/dance.
• Reclaimed with Jarrett Martineau, CBC Radio - Reclaimed is a weekly series on CBC Radio that explores the many worlds of contemporary Indigenous music from traditional songs and acoustic sounds to Native hip-hop, R&B, and the dancefloor-filling beats of electric powwow.
• Indigenous in Music with Larry K - Host Larry Knudsen, Ho–Chunk Nation, Black River Falls, WI, brings live interviews and a mix of new music from Indigenous musicians from around the Western Hemisphere, a variety of rock, pop, country, flute, salsa, classical, house and electronica.
• Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive - Streaming playlist, Indigenous Dance of the Americas, focuses on music and dance of the Indigenous Peoples of the Mohican, Nipmuc, Poncumtuc, and Agawam Tribes from present day and into the past. 
• The Sun Dagger, Online
• Conscience Point Online
• Coming to Light, Online
• Geronimo and the Apache Resistance, Online
• Reel Injun, Call Number: VIDEO.DVD13685
• Incident at Oglala, Call Number: VIDEO.DVD07006
• We Shall Remain: Wounded Knee, Online
• Awake: A Dream From Standing Rock Online

Databases and Other Resources 

• Early Americas Digital Archive

  A collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820," including Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, English, and French accounts of indigenous communities.

• Mapping Indigenous Worlds

  Mapping Indigenous Worlds is a Mellon Global South Humanities Lab at the University of Virginia.

• Native Web

  Resources for Indigenous Cultures around the World

• Tribal Nations Map

  Tribal Nations Map: Our own names and locations, http://www.tribalnationsmaps.com/

• Indian Country

  Serving the Nations; Celebrating the People

• Tribal Writers Digital Library The Native Writers Digital Text Project brings the works of Native poets and writers of fiction and other prose to readers world wide. Featuring out-of-print literary efforts of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and First Nations people of Canada, the project seeks to broaden the definition of “Native Writing” not only by focusing on writers who are not ordinarily anthologized, but also by publishing works which originally appeared in “ephemeral” sources and the periodical press, especially in those publications edited and produced by Natives.
• National Archives: Native American Heritage Among the billions of historical records housed at the National Archives throughout the country, researchers can find information relating to American Indians from as early as 1774 through the mid 1990s. The National Archives preserves and makes available the documents created by Federal agencies in the course of their daily business.
• Empire Online This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
• American Indian Histories and Cultures This resource contains material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world. The collection is truly vast, containing 130,000 volumes, over one million manuscript pages, 2,000 maps, 500 atlases, 11,000 photographs, and 3,500 drawings and paintings. The collection covers not only American Indian history, but archaeology, voyages, exploration and accounts of early America, the development of cartography, Philippine and Hawaiian history, and Central and South American history.
• American Indian Newspapers American Indian Newspapers aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016.
• Ancestry Library Edition Ancestry Library Edition is an academic version of ancestry.com. There are images of original documents and includes narratives, oral histories, indexes and abstracts to other resources. Over 30,000 Ancestry.com record collections and 11 billion records available to search. Record collections span the 1500s–2000s.
• Anthropology Plus (1890-present) Find articles, reports, and other materials on social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
• Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America Lists articles, books and other publications about the native peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present. Lists all titles from the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America. Includes book reviews.
• Ethnic NewsWatch Full-text of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from 200 ethnic, minority, and native publications in the U.S., in English and in Spanish.

• National Museum of the American Indian

• D'Arcy McNickle Center for American Indian and Indigenous Studies

• Sequoyah National Research Center (SNRC)

• Institute of American Indian Arts

• Heard Museum: Advancing American Indian Art