The Asian American Experience
Books, Essays, and Poems:
- Ashgar, Fatimah, If They Come for Us: Poems, Call Number: PS3601 .S48 A6 2018.
- Choau, Rosalind and Feagin, Joe S., The Myth of the Model Minority, Asian Americans Facing Racism, Online.
- Chung, Nicole, All You Can Ever Know, Call Number: HV874.82.C457 A3 2018.
- Daniels, Roger, Guarding the Golden Door, American Immigration Policy and Immigrants Since 1882, Call Number: JV6483.D36 2004.
- Der Vang, Mai, Afterland: Poems, Call Number: PS3622 .A64 A6 2017.
- Hong, Cathy Park, Minor Feelings: An Asian American Reckoning, Online.
- Hsu, Madeline, The Good Immigrants: How the Yellow Peril Became the Model Minority, Online.
- Asian American History: A Very Short Introduction, Online.
- Hune, Shirley and Nomura, Gail M., Our Voices, Our Histories: Asian American and Pacific Islander Women, Call Number: E184 .A75 H895 2020.
- Jen, Gish, Thank You Mr. Nixon: Stories, Call Number: PS3560.E474 T47 2022.
- Nazli Kibria, Becoming Asian American, Second Generation Chinese and Korean American Identities, Online.
- Kingston, Maxine Kingston, China Men, Call Number: E184.C5 K5 1989.
- Lee, Erica, The Making of Asian America: A History, Online.
- Lowe, Lisa, Immigrant Acts: On Asian American Politics, Online.
- Ngai, Mae, The Lucky Ones: One Family and the Extraordinary Invention of Chinese America, Call Number: F869.S39 C555 2010
- Otsuka, Julie, When the Emperor Was Divine: A Novel, Call Number: PS3615.T88 W48 2002
- Tchen, John Kao Wei, and Yeats, Dylan, Yellow Peril! An Archive of Anti-Asian Fear Call Number: E184.A75 Y45 2014
- Talusan, Grace, The Body Papers: A Memoir, Call Number: RC560.S44 T35 2019
- Vuong, Ocean, Time is a Mother, Call Number: PS3622.U96 T56 2022
- Yamashita, Karen Tei, I Hotel, Call Number: PS3575.A44 I19 2010
- Yang, Gene Luen, American Born Chinese, Call Number: PZ7.K678337 Am 2006
- Yu, Charles, Interior Chinatown, Call Number: PS3625.U15 I58 2020
- Zuaner, Michelle, Crying in H-Mart, Call Number: ML420 .Z3913 A3 2021
Music, Movies, and Other Media
- Asian American Artists: Selected Works From The Smithsonian
- Asian Art Museum, San Francisco
- Everything, Everywhere, All at Once (2022) Call Number: KLAUS DVD #2551
- The Farewell (2019) Call Number: KLAUS DVD #2407
- Minari (2020) Call Number: KLAUS DVD #2487
- The Joy Luck Club (1993) Call Number: VIDEO.DVD05637
- The Mindy Project (2012-2017) Call Number: KLAUS DVD #2348-#2354
- Slumdog Millionaire (2008) Call Number: KLAUS DVD #724, VIDEO.DVD10205
- Yellow Rose (2019) Online
- Saving Face (2004) Call Number: VIDEO.DVD16173
- Index to Film-related Materials in Early Chinese Newspapers
- SCREENSIDE CHATS - COVID-19, Racism and an Asian American Experience - AACAP President-Elect Warren Ng, MD, joins AACAP President Gaye Carlson, MD, in a continuing focus on advancing racial and ethnic equity, diversity, and inclusion.
Primary Source Collections, Databases, and Other Resources:
-
Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911~1949) Series 1-11 (民国时期期刊全文数据库) The Journal Database for the Republican Period (1911-1949) covers over 20,000 journal titles. The journal database contains information on all aspects of life, including political, economic, military, social, and livelihood. It provides first-hand information to study the history of the Republic China.
-
Late Qing Dynasty Periodical Full-text Database (1833～1911) (晚清期刊全文数据库) This link opens in a new window Produced by the Shanghai Library, this database covers approximately 280,000 articles published in 302 Chinese-language periodicals between 1833 and 1911 in China. The collection includes almost all periodicals published during critical periods later known as the Opium Wars, Westernization Movement, Reform Movement of 1898 and Revolution of 1911. It contains the Women's Periodicals that advocated women's liberation and mental enlightenment, the Four Major Late Qing Dynasty Novel Journals as emerged during the great flourishing period of novels of the late Qing Dynasty, the Vernacular Chinese Periodicals founded to explore the people's mind and spread new knowledge, and the Science and Technology Periodicals which introduced new technologies and spread scientific knowledge.
-
China Press (1911～1949)
- National Palace Museum Periodicals Online
- Chinese Foreign Policy Database (Wilson Center)
-
中華電子佛典 - Chinese Buddhist Electronic Texts
-
The International Dunhuang Project: The Silk Road Online
- AACAP Anti-Racism Resource Library
- Asian Pacific American Institute for Congressional Studies
- Chinese American World War II Veterans Project
- Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus
- Library of Congress AAPI Collections
- Library of Congress Asian Pacific Americans: Going for Broke
- Library of Congress Law Library - Asian Pacific American Heritage Month
- Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center
- A More Perfect Union: Japanese Americans and the U.S. Constitution