Understanding Difference

American Culture and Identity

Books, Essays, and Poetry:

• Alcott, Louisa May, Little Women, or, Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy. Online
• Angelou, Maya, And Still I Rise, Call Number: PS3551.N464 A8 2001
• Beals, Melbo Pattillo, Warriors Don’t Cry, Call Number: LC214.23.L56 B43 1994
• Bui, Thi, The Best We Could Do: An Illustrated Memoir, Call Number: PN6727.B85 B47 2017
• Baldwin, James The Fire Next Time, Call Number: E185.61.B195 1993
• Bradbury, Ray Fahrenheit 451, Call Number: PS3503.R167 F3 1993
• Cash, Wiley, A Land More Kind Than Home, Call Number: PS3603.A86525 L36 2011
• Williams, William Carlos, Spring and All, Call Number: PS3545.I544 S7 2011
  • The Red Wheelbarrow: And Other Poems, Call Number: PS3545.I544 A6 2018
• Carson, Rachel Silent Spring, Call Number: QH545.P4 C38 1994
• Connell, Evan S. Mrs. Bridge, Call Number: PS3553.O5 M52
• Countryman, Edward, Americans: A Collision of Histories Call Number: E169.1.C792 1996
• Desmond, Matthew, Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City Call Number: HD7287.96.U6 D47 2016
• Dickinson, Emily, Poems, Call Number: PS1541.A6 1981
• Ellison, Ralph, Invisible Man, Call Number: PS3555.L625 I5 2002
• Faulkner, William, Light in August, Online
• Flagg, Fannie, Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe, Call Number: PS3556.L26 F7 1997
• Gorman, Amanda, The Hill We Climb, Online
• Harjo, Joy, In Mad Love and War, Call Number: PS3558.A62423 I6 1990
• Heller, Joseph, Catch-22 Call Number: PS3558.E476 C3
• Hemingway, Ernest, For Whom the Bell Tolls, Call Number: PS3515.E37 F6 1992
• Hughes, Langston, The Weary Blues, Call Number: PS3515.U274 W4 1926
  • Harlem, Online
• Kingston, Maxine Hong, The Woman Warrior: Memoirs of a Girlhood Among Ghosts, Online
• Lalami, Laila, Conditional Citizens: On Belonging in America, Call Number: JK1759.L223 2020
• Lee, Harper, To Kill a Mockingbird, Online
• Lovato, Robert, Unforgetting, A Memoir of Family, Migration, Gangs and Revolution in the Americas, Call Number: E184.S15 L68 2020
• Morrison, Toni, Beloved Call Number: PS3563.O8749 B4 2005
• Pancake, Anne, Strange as This Weather Has Been, Call Number: PS3616.A36 S77 2007
• Riis, Jacob, How the Other Half Lives, Call Number: HV4046 .N6 R58 1971
• Sinclair, Upton, The Jungle, Online
• Stowe, Harriet Beecher, Uncle Tom’s Cabin, Online
• Tarbell, Ida The History of Standard Oil, Online
• Twain, Mark Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Online
• Turner, Frederick Jackson, The Frontier in American History, Online
• Villavicencio, Karlo Cornejo The Undocumented Americans, Call Number: JV6483.C59 2020
• Whitman, Walt, Song of Myself, Call Number: PS3222.S6 1905
• Wright, Richard, Native Son, Call Number: PS3545.R815 N3 1969

Movies, Music, and Other Media:

• Library of Congress: It's Showtime! Sheet Music From Stage and Screen
  • Amazing Grace Collection
  • Traditional Music and Spoken Word Catalogue
• Musical America Worldwide
• Film Music Magazine sponsored by the Film and Television Music Knowledgebase, features interviews with composers and practical guides to the field (e.g.: several articles about "marketing yourself"), in addition to offering a useful, up-to-date guide of recent job listing

• American History in Video Over 5,000 films, commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries showing historical events and their presentation over time.

• Drama Online Video Library View performances of plays from the National Theatre and the Globe on Screen.
• Explorations in Black Leadership Video, audio, and text of interviews with leaders in the black community, conducted chiefly by Julian Bond. These oral histories focus on leadership and the transformational role of the civil rights movement in America.
• Filmakers Library Online Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
• Historic American Sheet Music The David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University holds a significant collection of 19th and early 20th century American sheet music. The Historic American Sheet Music Project provides access to digital images of over 3000 pieces from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.

Primary Sources, Databases, and Other Resources:

• America: History & Life (1964-present) Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
• Historical Abstracts Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.
• Ancestry Library Edition Ancestry Library Edition is an academic version of ancestry.com. There are images of original documents and includes narratives, oral histories, indexes and abstracts to other resources. Over 30,000 Ancestry.com record collections and 11 billion records available to search. Record collections span the 1500s–2000s.

• American Periodicals (Series 1) includes full text of over 1000 journals published in the US between 1740 and 1900

• The American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection provides access to thousands of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. The individual collections, each covering a particular timeframe, can also be searched independently.