Welcome
Welcome to the Climate Justice research dashboard. The dashboard provides quick links to the resources you need for your research and assignments. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Rebecca Coleman
Rebecca can help with: refining your topic, gathering research, finding images and site documentation, locating maps and data, organizing your research, citations, and more! She can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Request content any time
- I need scanned chapter(s) from a print book in the LibraryNOTE: this option is available to graduate students and faculty only at this time.
Download library apps and software
- Libkey Nomad Browser ExtensionUpon finding an article on any website, Libkey Nomad identifies if the Library has access (and directs you to the full PDF of the article), or if not, directs you to Interlibrary Loan to allow you to get quick access to any article, anywhere.
- ZoteroAnother free alternative to Refworks - collect, organize, cite and share your research sources. Downloads to your web browser on your personal computer. Is especially good for saving and linking to digital objects and web pages.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Search for academic resources
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, images, reports, news, and more. These are the most used databases for planning research.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited.
- Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIncluding bibliographic records covering essential areas related to the study of cities and regions, this database explores such topics as urban affairs, community development, urban history and other subjects of key relevance to the discipline.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowDatabase for public policy. Includes more than 3 million reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 21,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers.
- ASCE Research Library (1995-present) This link opens in a new windowSearch journals published by the society. Topics include engineering and architecture, coasts, energy, environment, materials, transportation, and water resources. Our subscription only allows access to journals, not to conference proceedings.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowPolicy File Index is a unique resource for U.S. public policy research in that it grants users access to timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. Over 75 public policy topics are covered, from foreign policy to domestic policy. The majority of Policy File Index records link directly to the full-text report, paper, document, or other source.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFind articles from most online scholarly journals plus some books and Web sites. Use Advanced Search if you get too many results; use Preferences to turn on links to Find@UVa and RefWorks.
Locate more resources by program or topic
- See Resources in Other Subject AreasWe have guides to the databases in many areas-- history, politics, business, sciences, etc. If your research touches on these subjects, check out the databases listed on that guide, too!
Demographics & Data
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowPolicyMap is an online data and mapping tool that enables government, commercial, non-profit and academic institutions to access data about communities and markets across the US. Use it for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
- Find Data - Research Data ServicesData sources organized by topic. These sources are either publicly available or licensed through UVA Library.
Help me with citations
Different disciplines use different styles of citation. Please check to determine which style is right for your course and assignment. Remember that citations are important for crediting ideas, designs, data sources, image creators, and more.
- Use Zotero to organize your sources and generate bibliographiesGuide to downloading and using Zotero, a free application that collects, manages, and cites research sources.
- MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new windowThe ninth edition builds on the MLA’s unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, YouTube videos, dissertations, and more.
Search Virgo
Google Tips & Tricks
These tips can help you locate better information on the web, faster. But remember- a lot of information is not freely available on the web, no matter how well you search!
- Put quotation marks around words that you want to stick together as a phrase
- Add "site:.gov" to the end of your search to ONLY search websites on government domains
- Add "site:website.com" to search only the content of a specific site (for example: charlottesville.org!)
- Add "filetype:pdf" to ONLY search for information you think is likely to be in PDF format (reports, documents, etc.)
- Use the minus sign or dash to eliminate results that are off target (Example: food system -digestive)
- Remember that Google is only a computer, and doesn't understand the concepts in your search. So, try your search using different keywords and phrases that mean the same thing.
Climate Justice Orgs with Case Studies
- EnJustCase studies on climate justice including, among others, contributions on adaptation to climate change, gender inequality and climate change and migration.
- Second Nature Climate Justice Case StudiesThis page features case studies from colleges, universities, and cities that incorporated diversity, equity, inclusion, and justice (DEIJ) principles into their climate action planning processes and plans.
- Mary Robinson Foundation Case StudiesThe Foundation seeks to present climate actions that have been informed by the people that use and benefit from them to show that participative approaches to policy design and implementation ultimately results in better climate action.
- U.S. Climate Resilience Institute Case StudiesCase Studies of U.S. communities, businesses, and individuals who are taking action to document their vulnerabilities and build resilience to climate-related impacts.