Subject Guide
Off-Grounds Access
Most databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through EZ Proxy or UVaAnywhere. More information.
Tips
- Need help? Ask a Librarian.Chat | IM | Text message | E-mail | Telephone -- Or come in and ask at a reference desk.
- Off-Grounds Access.Most databases are available only on Grounds, but ITC provides workarounds for home use.
- Refworks: Manage Your Research and Writing.A tool for managing a collection of articles and books for your research. Import the citation from one of our databases; export it into a footnote or bibliography.
- Library and ITC Accounts.Virgo | RefWorks | InterLibrary Services | Eservices | Proxy | UVaAnywhere | Home Directory | Wireless | Printing (Cavalier Advantage)
- Request a Purchase.Ask the Library to add a book, video, etc. to the UVa collections.
- Interlibrary Loan / LEO.Can't find what you need? Borrow the book, journal article, etc. from another Library.
Faculty: use LEO to have library materials delivered to your office.
Searching Virgo
Click on Catalog Advanced Search then Limit Results By - Library - Special Collections
Keyword = Bosnia "war crimes"
- Virgo does not require Boolean connectors, such as and, or between terms.
- Put a phrase within quotation marks
- Automatically does stemming of search terms (view, viewer, viewers, viewing)
- You can further refine search results by using the limiters on the left of the search results screen. For example, clicking on "Special Collections" under "Library" will narrow your results to materials held in Special Collections.
- Be sure you click on "Start Over" to perform a new search
Finding Scholarly Articles
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn depth reports on selected issues in the news with lists of recommended books and articles.
- America: History & Life (1964-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowFind articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.
- Hein Online This link opens in a new windowRetrospective, full-text .pdf coverage of hundreds of legal periodicals, U.S. Supreme Court cases, the U.S. Statutes at Large, Congressional Record, hearings and other legislative history materials, Federal Register, U.S. Attorney General opinions, U.S. treaties and agreements, Foreign and International Law, Israel Law Reports, English Reports, Hague Academy Recueil des Cours, Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law collection, and the Virginia Law Weekly archive. Searchable by citation, author/title, and keyword.
- NexisUni This link opens in a new windowNews and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
- Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte This link opens in a new windowLists journal articles, books and dissertations on all aspects of German history. Coverage begins in 1974; earlier years in paper and CD-ROM at Shannon Reference Z2236.J26.
- RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new windowA selective bibliography of scholarly articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages in all fields of Jewish studies and the study of Israel.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowLarge general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches, images, and other primary source documents.
Finding Contemporary Articles
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Searchable full text backfiles of articles from the New York Times (1851-2007), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), Washington Post (1877-1992), and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975).
Search New York Times: Advanced Search = "democratic nomination" AND McCarthy
Date Range = 1967 to 1968
Factiva Articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals, including the Wall Street Journal. Best source for foreign press.
Finding Primary Source Materials
A list of our online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . For information regarding off-Grounds access see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/
Digital National Security Archive contains declassified documents used by the U.S. government in conducting foreign policy. The materials are obtained through the Freedom of Information Act.
Search Entire Document: Keyword= My Lai
Date: November 12, 1969 - November 17, 1970
Declassified Documents Reference System provides access to collections of declassified documents from the CIA, FBI, presidential libraries, and other agencies, from the 1940's through the 1980's. Put a phrase in single quotes.
Conduct same search for My Lai as above ("Anywhere" instead of "entire document") and compare results
Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975 Includes documents from the Peers Inquiry into the My Lai massacre as well as other primary source material from the CIA, the State Department, the National Security Council, and various presidential files, from the Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon administrations. Emphasis is on the Vietnam War but it also includes material about US policy in other regions of the world as well.
U.S. Government Publications
ProQuest Congressional provides mostly full-text publications from the U.S. Congress, including testimony from Congressional hearings, legislative histories of laws, reports to Congress, etc.
Advanced Search : Torture (2003-2006)
Limit to: Hearings, Reports, Documents
Department of State Bulletin (1939-1989) includes press releases, official statements of policy, texts of important documents, the U.S. position on issues before the United Nations, articles by department officials, and information about treaties. Continued by the U.S. Department of State Dispatch (1990-1999). After 1993 this material is found on the Department of State web site.
Additional Sources
Vietnam and Southeast Asia, Special Studies, 1960-1980 Micfilm 1448 Online guide to contents. Government Information Resources, Shannon 3rd floor. Research studies by think tanks, government agencies, etc. about the Vietnam war. Includes appraisals of the military's herbicide program, evaluations of the economic and political effects of U.S. bombing in North Vietnam, contemporary evaluations of rural pacification and Vietnamization programs, etc.