Japanese Art
Yuki Nobu, Figure of a Young Girl, Meiji Period (1868–1912), Carnegie Museum of Art
Subject Guide
Quick Search Links
- ARTStor This link opens in a new windowmages of world art from all periods. Paintings, drawings and prints plus architecture and design are represented. Special collections include Asian and American art, Buddhist paintings and sculpture and historic photographs.
Researching Japanese Art
- VIRGOIndexes selected journal articles as well as books, but you can search more specifically in many of our journal databases listed above.
- EBSCOHost Databases This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 100 journals related to architecture, planning, landscape and sustainability - many of which are NOT indexed by Avery. Some articles provided in full-text.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1971 - present
Lists journal articles and book chapters on all subjects related to Asia. Most articles are in western languages. Includes book reviews. - Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowFind articles and book reviews in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning in journals from many countries. Coverage begins in the 1930s, but some journals are indexed back to the the 1860s. Many citations include abstracts.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The Archive Journal Collection is included.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowComprehensive encyclopedia of the visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific with links to tens of thousands of images.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
A large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.
- ARTStor This link opens in a new windowArtstor is now on JSTOR.
Images of world art from all periods, including paintings, drawings, prints, historic photographs, architecture and design.
Helpful Websites
- The Huntington ArchiveThe John C. and Susan L. Huntington Photographic Archive of Buddhist and Asian Art at The Ohio State University.
- The Freer Sackler Galleries at the SmithsonianThe Smithsonian's Museums of Asian Art
- Musee GuimetFrench collection of Asian art
- E-Museum of Japanhigh definition images of national treasures and important cultural properties owned by four national museums (Tokyo National Museum, Kyoto National Museum, Nara National Museum and Kyushu National Museum).
- Digital Library & Museum of Buddhist StudiesSearch for article citations and more information related to Buddhism. Maintained by National Taiwan University.