Welcome
Welcome to the Japanese Studies library dashboard. The dashboard provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your East Asian Studies Librarian is WEI WANG
Connect with Wei for help with your assignments. This service is available to all students doing research in East Asian Studies. Wei can help with capstone, thesis, dissertation planning, identifying relevant databases/journals for your literature reviews, developing search strategy, tracking down resources. Wei can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Selected e-resources in Japanese
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. These are the major databases in Japanese
- CiNii - 論文情報 ナビゲータ This link opens in a new window"Citation Information by NII" enables searching of information on academic papers published in academic society journals or university research bulletins, or included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.
- Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search 朝日新聞クロスサーチ This link opens in a new window Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search is the largest newspaper article database in Japan, permitting searches of 16 million articles and advertisements from more than 140 years of the newspaper, from its first edition in 1879 (Meiji 12) to today. Content Includes: Weekly magazines Historical Photo Archive: 10,000 pieces of valuable historical photographs The English-language News: "The International Herald Tribune/The Asahi Shimbun (the IHT/Asahi)" and "AJW (Asia & Japan Watch)" dating back to April 2001.
- Zasshi kiji sakuin shūsei dētabēsu - 雑誌記事索引集成データベース This link opens in a new window Comprehensive index to Japanese journal articles from the Meiji era to the present. 日本（旧植民地なども対象）で発行された日本語の雑誌記事が検索できます。 明治初期から現在まで、また、総合雑誌など全国誌から地方で発行された雑誌も対象です。
Search Virgo
Explore research guides
- Religious Studies Subject GuideLinks to databases chosen by the Religious Studies Subject Librarians.