Research, Statistics, and Evaluation in Education Research Guide
Databases Focused on Research, Statistics, and Evaluation in Education
- 7 Education DatabasesSimultaneously search the following 7 education databases:
1) ERIC, 2) Academic Search Complete, 3) Education Full Text, 4) Education Index
Retrospective: 1929-1983, 5) Education Research Complete, 6) Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, and 7) SPORTDiscus
Click the PEER REVIEWED button to limit articles to only peer reviewed journals.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowBeginning in the 1800s, covers journal articles in more than 30 languages and books in English about psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education.
- APA PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
Full books and chapters from APA books, classic books published by others, and the full electronic release of the Encyclopedia of Psychology. New books are added each month.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Book Citation Index- Science (2005-), Book Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (2005-), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-), Index Chemicus (1993-), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowERIC provides access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles, most of which are peer-reviewed, and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If available, links to full text are included.
- What Works Clearinghouse This link opens in a new windowWhat Works Clearinghouse (WWC) gathers studies of the effectiveness of educational interventions (programs, products, practices, and policies) and reports on their strengths and weaknesses.
- ICPSR This link opens in a new windowThe Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Users may view documentation, download raw data, and search a bibliography of data-related literature. (You must create a personal ICPSR account with your virginia.edu email address in order to download data.)
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowFull text (in PDF format) of all books, reports, periodicals, and statistical databases published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowThe Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
- Proquest Statistical InsightStatistical information of all kinds, current and historical, US and international. Formerly LexisNexis Statistical Universe.
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new windowTool for journal evaluation, using citation data taken from over 8,000 journals in the areas of science and technology. Used to find impact factors.