Newspapers onlineCurrent print subscriptionsNewspapers on microfilmPrint indexesResearch tools & finding aids
Newspapers onlineCurrent print subscriptionsNewspapers on microfilmResearch tools & finding aids
Newspapers onlineCurrent print subscriptionsNewspapers on microfilmResearch tools & finding aids
Black & ethnic newsAfrican American news on microfilmAlternative NewsHistorical women's periodicals
This is the "Home" page of the "Newspapers & Other News Media" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Newspapers & Other News Media   Tags: historical, newspapers, newspapers  

News resources available at UVA
Last Updated: Sep 28, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page

Find Specific Newspapers

Check these places first when you have a newspaper title or geography in mind.

  • Journal Finder
    For when you have a title in mind
    Find specific newspaper titles (and what dates we have them) by searching Journal Finder.
  • US Newspapers on Microfilm
    For when you need a historic paper or a paper published in a particular state
    Search UVA's U.S. Newspapers on Microfilm Database by date, by state, or both, to find titles (no articles) of newspapers in microfilm held at Alderman Library. Search by state or year.

Featured Newspaper Databases

Check these sources when you want to do broad news research on a general topic. 

  • Factiva - for today's paper
    Use Factiva to find the daily edition of national and global newspapers. Click on News Pages for today's paper. In addition to the daily edition of papers, Factiva offers full-text, from thousands of sources from all over the world, in 22 languages. Coverage varies by title, some back to 1980s.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Full-text of hundreds of U.S. and some foreign newspapers. Coverage varies by title, some back to 1980s.
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers
    New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, and Washington Post. See also Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers and America's Historical Newspapers.
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Black Newspapers
    Covers late 19th-late 20th centuries. A subset of the larger ProQuest Historical Newspapers, this is acollection of several prominent black newspapers including the Chicago Defender, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, Baltimore Afro-American, and NY Amsterdam News.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch (1985-present)
    Full-text of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from 200 ethnic, minority, and native publications in the U.S., in English and in Spanish.
  • World News Connection, 1995-2013
    English translations of foreign news. Full-text of news and information compiled from thousands of non-U.S. news sources. Earlier newspaper translations can be found in the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) series.

Daily Progress

We offer two reliable ways to read the local Charlottesville paper.  Note: we also have recent issues (about the last two months) in print in Alderman.

Contact Your Librarian

Profile Image
Jennifer Huck
Contact Info
Librarian for Info & Spaces - North
Alderman Library, UVA
Send Email

Contact us!

Profile Image
Alderman Library Reference Desk
Contact Info
Alderman 4th Floor, (434) 924-3021, Ask A Librarian if you need help!

Contact Information

Profile Image
Barbie Selby
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact Info
Alderman Library
Reference Room, 4th floor
University of Virginia
Send Email

Get Help!

UVa Library     |     UVa Library MOBILE    |    Off Grounds Access     |     ITC Help Desk     |     Ask a Librarian


Loading  Loading...