Newspapers & Other News Media

For when you have a title in mind
Find specific newspaper titles (and what dates we have them) by searching Journal Finder.

Not a searchable database. Member of the Institute for Nonprofit News since 2014, the mission of Charlottesville Tomorrow is to provide "non-partisan information and research on land use, transportation, community design and public education" for the Charlottesville-Albemarle community. See their topic list.

Includes a number of Virginia newspapers. Trial through Spring 2016

Don't forget to check out our databases with national news. Virginia news will be in there, too! America's Historical Newspapers and Accessible Archives databases might be particularly helpful.

The Library of Congress offers 105 Virginia newspapers. Coverage varies with each title, but most titles span the late 19th to early 20th century.

The Daily Progress is Charlottesville's local paper. Currently the digital edition covers 1892 to 1964. It provides scans only, no full text searching. Offered by UVA and the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library.

Selected transcribed articles from the Richmond Planet (1890-1906, 1934). "The Planet was edited by John Mitchell and was one of the largest and most widely read black papers in Virginia. The Planet had a "Charlottesville correspondent" who reported on news from the African-American community that was of interest to Richmond readers. We selected articles from or about Charlottesville or Albemarle for inclusion in this collection." From the Virginia Center for Digital History and the Carter G. Woodson Institute of African and Afro-American Studies.

The Reflector, an African-American newspaper printed in Charlottesville from 1933-1935, is a source for understanding the lives of Charlottesville's African Americans during the Jim Crow period. From UVA's Virginia Center for Digital History.

Selected transcribed articles from The Reflector (1933-35). "Thomas J. Sellers edited and owned the Reflector, and we have only one surviving short run of it (a year and a half). Sellers writes about the local black community, the pain of segregation, and the success of black businesses, churches, and fraternal institutions. Sellers' perspective ranges across many national events, including the Scotsboro cases, the depression, and the New Deal." A project from the Virginia Center for Digital History and the Carter G. Woodson Institute of African and Afro-American Studies.

This award winning web site provides articles from two Virginia and two Pennsylvania Civil War and Reconstruction-era newspapers (1859-1870).

Published weekly in colonial Williamsburg, 1736-1780. News covered all Virginia and some information for other colonies and England.