U.N. Research Resources - Online
- Guides to Model U.N.Research From Stanford University. From the UN Association of the USA Model UN: Glossary and Resource Links . See also, from UVA Library, Guide to UN Documents.
- AccessUN (1945-present)Find citations to UN documents through AccessUN, then locate the documents in Alderman Library's print and microfiche UN collections. AccessUN indexes speeches in the General Assembly & Security Council, reports, letters from governments to the UN, committee meetings & reports, and the UN Chronicle. Coverage - 1945 - present. Some full-text. Search tips: see AccessUN entry on Overview of Resources.
- U.N Yearbook (1946-2005)
More recent volumes are located in Alderman Library on the 3rd floor, Call Number UNOPI 1/YE 3/ (year).- UNBISnet
Bibliographic records (1979+), voting records with full-text (1946+) and speeches with full-text (1983+).- United Nations Home Page
UN Home Page is divided into 17 sections. The most useful are: UN Documentation & Maps (not many speeches here), UN News Centre and U.N. at a Glance.- World Factbook
Gives short sketches of the world's countries - gov't, land, people, history, economics, etc. From the CIA.- World News Connection
Indexes and provides full text translations to news accounts from around the world. Covers 1996 to the present, with some coverage for 1995. See also guide to this publication and its predecessors. FBIS and JPRS. - U.N Yearbook (1946-2005)
Comments (0)
U.N. Research Resources - Print & Other Formats
- UN Official Records
3 Old Stacks, Alderman Library
Paper texts of speeches (SRs & PVs), resolutions, letters to the UN, reports, etc.
UN BodyUN Document NumberLocation
A/ = General AssemblyA/sess./PV = full text of a speech - Aisle 7
S/ = Security CouncilS/PV = full text of a speech - Aisle 9 - UN Microfiche
Maps/Microforms Room, 3 East, Alderman Library
Texts of pretty much everthing the UN has ever issued from 1946 to the present. Includes documents indexed on the UN Documents Index. Filed by document number. - UN Yearbook
3 Old Stacks, Alderman Library. Call Number UNOPI 1/YE 3/ (year).
Year by year account of what goes on the the UN. Good references to other UN materials like speeches, letters, and reports. See also online version for 1946-2005. - FBIS Index
See also guide to FBIS and its predecessor (JPRS) and successor (WNC)
CD-ROMs
Indexes, by region of the world, media accounts of events - newspapers, TV, radio.
Coverage 1977 - 1996
Example of results list:
DateRegionPageTitle
Jul 25 96EEU018Croatia:Fairness in Bosnia
Jul 22 96EEU021B-H:Ganic: No Health Peace
Jul 9 96EEU041Croatia: Opposition questions
* You need the date, region, and page in order to locate a FBIS report.
* Locate FBIS reports as follows:
1947-1973 - Microfilm - Case near window
1974-1996 - Microfiche - PREX 7.10:[FBIS-region-year-number]
1996- World News Connection
Subject Guide |
My Profile |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: American Sign Language |
Description
Loading...

sep.jpg)

