Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Technical Reports - United States

National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

NASA technical reports are in microfiche, print and digital format.
  • The reports are filed primarily under class number NAS 1.26 and NAS 1.15.
  • The fiche are located in cabinets in Alderman's Government Information Resources Reading Room 3rd floor east.
  • Printed materials are in Alderman 3rd floor, New Stacks.
  • Many, but not all NASA reports are indexed in VIRGO.
  • The following list of major NASA report series codes and corresponding SuDoc call numbers may be helpful in searching for reports.

    Contractor Reports (CR) NAS 1.26
    Conference Publications (CP) NAS 1.55
    Educational Publications (EP) NAS 1.19
    Reference Publications (RP) NAS 1.61
    Special Publications (SP) NAS 1.21
    Technical Memorandums (TM) NAS 1.15
    Technical Notes (TN) NAS 1.14
    Technical Papers (TP) NAS 1.60
    Technical Reports (TR) NAS 1.12
Listed below are online index and full-text resources.
  • Aerospace Database 1962-current UVA only
    (Check first option under Subject Area to search this database.)
    Provides citations to documents of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences; in addition to journal literature, the database also includes coverage of reports issued by NASA and other U.S. government agencies. See
    search tips.

  • NTRS Nasa Technical Reports Server
    Includes full-text current NASA technical reports, 1996 - present. See
    browse feature and search help.

  • NACA Digital Library National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics
    Indexes and abstracts for technical reports issued 1915-1958, some full-text. See
    browse feature and search help.

  • STAR Adobe acrobat is needed to view.
    Scientific and Technical Aerospace Reports (STAR) lists citations and abstracts of NASA and worldwide aerospace-related research. Updated biweekly, STAR highlights the most recent additions to the NASA scientific and technical information knowledge base.