History

Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.

Indexes articles on the literature, languages, and history of ancient Greece and Rome from journals, books and conference proceedings. Check the "Interim Articles" for most recent publications.

Full text (PDF) of most US dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.

See also Finding Dissertations

This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.

Search for dissertations from British universities. Many are available for download after registration. ILL can often get a copy of those available only in print.

The First World War portal makes available invaluable primary sources for the study of the Great War, brought together in four thematic modules. From personal collections and rare printed material to military files, artwork and audio-visual files, content highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of a conflict that shook the world.

From feast to famine, explore primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition, and food production.

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange explores the history of a number of key commodities that changed the world. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged, and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption, and social practices. The resource includes a wide range of manuscript, printed, and visual primary-source materials as well as other key features to support research and teaching. Use the fully searchable interactive chronology to discover fascinating facts and world events, explore commodity prices across time and space using our unique data visualisation and view visual images in bespoke galleries and exhibitions.

Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.

Large collection of e-books. Topics include history, archaeology, area studies, art, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studies. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.

Unique collection of statistics covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. IHS is a collection of data sets taken from hundreds of disparate primary sources, including both official national and international abstracts. Content is divided into three geographical areas: (1) Africa, Asia, Oceania, (2) Americas, and (3) Europe. Tables can be downloaded in Excel format.

The IMB shares an interface with the Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale and the International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance.
Lists articles from books and journals on any topic relating to the European Middle Ages (ca. 400-1500).

JSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The Archive Journal Collection is included.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research

New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, Washington Post, and The Guardian & The Observer.

This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture, and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain, and Cuba.

This resource presents a multi-national journey through well-known, little-known and far-flung destinations unlocked for the average traveler between 1850 and the 1980s. Guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals provide unique insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world.

This project provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing in fact and in fantasy. The core of the material is a magnificent collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries around the world and dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China.

This resource brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Sources cover a variety of topics including; architecture; art; the British Empire; climate; customs; exploration; family life; housing; industry; language; monuments; mountains; natural history; politics and diplomacy; race; religion; science; shopping; war.

The Making of the Modern World is an extraordinary series which covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation.

Part I: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection
Part II, 1851-1914
Part III, 1890-1945
Part IV: 1800-1890