Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Economics

Library Resources for Department of Economics

Subscription-based Datasets and Data Collections

ICPSR - The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Users may view documentation, download raw data, and search a bibliography of data-related literature. You must create a personal ICPSR account with your virginia.edu email address in order to download data.

 

dataZoa - dataZoa is an online tool that provides users with drag-and-drop access to over 3 billion data series in economics, health, energy, demographics, finance, and more. Users can graze websites, such as the Bureau of Labor Statistics, UNdata, and Zillow and import data series into their own personal web-based account. dataZoa connections are live, so once a data series in selected, dataZoa will automatically import the most current data. Users also have the option of uploading and hosting their own original data. dataZoa can be used to view, analyze, share, download, and create charts and tabular displays. To get started, create a new account on the dataZoa website with your university email address.

 

OECD iLibrary Statistics - Multiple international datasets from the OECD, covering all topics: agriculture, health, economics, patents, R&D, migration, telecommunication, etc., plus all energy industry data from the IEA.

 

World DataBank - World Bank database provides direct access to more than 700 data series, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2006, with financial and demographic information on all countries. Before getting started, view this quick guide.

 

Mergent Online (Economic Research) - Information on over 35,000 current and former publicly traded companies, both from the US and from around the world. Company histories and over 200,000 annual reports in pdf, 30 years of stock prices, etc.

 

DataPlanet - The Data-Planet repository contains over 18.9 billion datapoints from over 400 databases sourced from 70 public and private organizations. Major topics are: Finance, Crime, Education, Energy, Food and Agriculture, Government, Health, Housing, Industry, International, Labor, Environment, Population, Income, Cost of Living, Recreation, Stocks, and Transportation.​ ​The datasets contained in Data-Planet are structured and homogenized to permit correlation of multiple, diverse indicators. The repository continues to grow regularly with the addition of new datasets drawn from public and private sources.  

DataPlanet Statistical Dataset GuideGuides by Subject  |  User Guide  |  Quick Reference Guide 

 

The National Bureau of Economic Research Data - This site points to data available from NBER or otherwise associated with the NBER research program.  Includes macro data; industry, productivity, and digitization data; international finance and trade data; individual data; healthcare data; demographic and vital statistics; patent and scientific papers data; and "other" data.

 

Social Explorer - This online resource provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data. Users can create custom data reports at many geographic levels and download data in a variety of file formats for use with statistical software. Includes: ACS, Decennial Census, Population Estimates (county level, since 2010), Business Patterns, Environmental Summaries, Religion, Crime, Health, Cancer, and some international survey data. 

 

Gallup Analytics - Gallup Analytics offers economic, well-being, and political polling data collected daily in the US since 2008, and the data can be broken down by state or MSA. Gallup also provides the World Poll, which captures economic, social, and well-being data for 160+ countries going back to 2006. Gallup Brain presents historical public opinion polling going back to 1935. Learn more at the Gallup Public Opinion Poll Research Guide.

 

PolicyMap - An online data and mapping tool that enables researchers to access data about communities and markets across the United States. Major topics are: Demographics, Incomes & Spending, Housing, Lending, Quality of Life, Economy, Education, Health, Federal Guidelines, Analytics (e.g., market value). There is also the option to upload your own data to map within their system.

 

Historical Statistics of the United States - This is the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. HSUS contains time series tables that cover the demographic, economic, social, political, and institutional history of the U.S. Find information of economic structure and performance (e.g., income, product, prices, consumer expenditures, financial markets and institutions) and economic sectors (e.g., agriculture, manufacturing, distribution, and transportation). The tables can be downloaded in Excel. The introductory essays provide guidance on sources and reliability and interpretation.

 

International Historical Statistics, 1750-2010 - Unique collection of statistics covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. IHS is a collection of data sets taken from hundreds of disparate primary sources, including both official national and international abstracts. Content is divided into three geographical areas: (1) Africa, Asia, Oceania, (2) Americas, and (3) Europe. Tables can be downloaded in Excel format.

 

Statista - An online statistics, market research, and business intelligence portal.  It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions in English, French, German, and Spanish.  It consolidates data from over 22,000 sources on 80,000 topics. Many of the charts and reports include the data in downloadable formats.

 

Statistical Abstract of the United States  - The Statistical Abstract of the United States provides comprehensive summary of statistics on these major topics: Population, Health, Education, Crime, Environment, Government, Human Services, Labor Force, Income, Prices, Business, Science, Agriculture, Energy, Construction, Manufacturing, Trade, Transportation, Information and Communication, Finance, and Arts. The source notes can be used to find more detailed tables and machine-readable datasets. Online from 2013-present, in print 1886-2013.

Other Economic and Finance Data Sources

  • Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta - The Atlanta Fed territory covers the Sixth Federal Reserve District (Alabama,Florida,Georgia, and portions of Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee).
  • Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago - Chicago Reserve Bank serves the Seventh Federal Reserve District (northern portions of Illinois and Indiana, southern Wisconsin, the Lower Peninsula of Michigan, and the state of Iowa).
  • Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland - Fourth Federal Reserve (Ohio, Pennsylvania, Kentucky and West Virginia).
  • Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas - The Eleventh Federal Reserve District (Texas, northern Louisiana and southern New Mexico).
  • Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City - The Tenth Federal Reserve District (Colorado,Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska,New Mexico,Oklahoma and Wyoming).
  • Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis - The Ninth Federal Reserve District (Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, the Upper Peninsula of Michigan and northwestern Wisconsin).
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York - Second Federal Reserve District (New York state, the 12 northern counties of New Jersey, Fairfield County in Connecticut, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands).
  • Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia - The Third Federal district (Philadelphia Federal Reserve Bank serves eastern Pennsylvania, southern New Jersey, and Delaware).
  • Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond - The Fifth Federal Reserve District (Virginia, Maryland, the Carolinas, the District of Columbia and most of West Virginia).
Time period: 1925-present (varies by dataset)
Geographic coverage: mostly US, some International
Geographic unit(s): county, metropolitan area, state, nation
Unit of observation: monthly, quarterly, annual; industry
 ​
The BEA provides microeconomic data, along with reports, maps, and other publications. Use the Interactive Data to navigate through national, regional, industry, and international data in various categories such as GDP, income, employment, saving and investment, fixed assets, input-output, international transactions, and many more.
 
Geographic coverage: mostly US, some International
Geographic unit(s): county, metropolitan area, state, nation
Unit of observation: city, county, metropolitan area, state, division, region, nation
 ​
The BLS contains much data on subjects such as inflation & prices, employment, spending & time use, pay & benefits, productivity, and more. See the subject area categories or try the BLS Data Finder.
 
  • U.S. Department of Commerce Commerce Data Hub Platform hosts over 40,000 data sets from BIS, BEA, Census, EDA, ESA, ITA, MBDA, NOAA, NIST, NTIA, NTIS, USTPO, and the OS.

 

Time period: 1991-present
Geographic coverage: US
Geographic unit: nation
Official site for historical economic and budget data and projections, such as 10-year budget projections, 10-year trust fund projections, spending projections, estimates of automatic stabilizers.
 
Time period: mostly 1947 to present, some 1785 onward
Geographic coverage: US and International
Geographic unit(s): MSA, county, state, nation
FRED Economic Data provides time series data in categories such as money, banking & finance (e.g., interest rates, exchange rates, financial indicators, business lending), population, employment & labor markets (e.g., CPS-household survey, employment, income, jobs), national accounts, production & business activity, prices and more. Many microdata can be downloaded to Excel spreadsheets.
 
Time period: US Dailies: 2008-present; World Poll: 2006 to present; Gallup Brain: 1935 to present
Geographic coverage: US, 160 other countries
Geographic unit(s): nation, state, MSA
Unit of observation: statistics
Gallup Analytics offers economic, well-being, and political polling data collected daily in the US since 2008, and the data can be broken down by state or MSA. Gallup also provides the World Poll, which captures economic, social, and well-being data for 160+ countries going back to 2006. Gallup Brain presents historical public opinion polling going back to 1935. Learn more at the Gallup Public Opinion Poll Research Guide.
 
Time period: 1790-2000
Geographic coverage: US
Geographic unit(s): mostly nation
Unit of observation: statistics
This is the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. HSUS contains time series tables that cover the demographic, economic, social, political, and institutional history of the U.S. Find information of economic structure and performance (e.g., income, product, prices, consumer expenditures, financial markets and institutions) and economic sectors (e.g., agriculture, manufacturing, distribution, and transportation). The tables can be downloaded in Excel. The introductory essays provide guidance on sources and reliability and interpretation.
 
Time period: 1962 to present
Geographic coverage: US
Geographic unit(s): city, MSA, county, state
Unit of observation: individual, household

IPUMS-CPS is a project dedicated to integrating and disseminating data from the Current Population Survey (CPS). The CPS is a monthly survey, conducted by the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the U.S. Census Bureau, which collects socio-demographic information and labor force characteristics. Economic variables include income, housing, subsidy, tax, job and work. For help of using IPUMS-CPS extract system, watch their short tutorial videos. The CPS data are also accessible at the National Bureau of Economic Resarch (NBER).

Time period: varies
Geographic coverage: varies
Geographic unit(s): varies
Unit of observation: varies
The National Bureau of Economic Research data site points to data available from NBER or otherwise associated with the NBER research program.  Includes macro data; industry, productivity, and digitization data; international finance and trade data; individual data; healthcare data; demographic and vital statistics; patent and scientific papers data; and "other" data.
 
Time period: birth year cohorts 1906-21, 1922-37, 1941-52, 1843-53, 1957-64, 1980-84
Geographic coverage: US
Geographic unit(s): (restricted use geocode data) ZIP Code, tract, MSA, county, state
Unit of observation: individual
The National Longitudinal Surveys is a program of the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. The surveys contain a wide array of topics, e.g., labor market activity, schooling, fertility, health and more. Find economic information such as employment, income, assets and participation in government assistance programs.
This is a very useful research guide for where to find historical wage and price data, going back to the 18th Century. 
U.S. Department of Commerce Commerce Data Hub Central platform hosting 40,000 datasets from BIS, BEA, Census, EDA, ESA, ITA, MBDA, NOAA, NIST, NTIA, NTIS, USTPO, and the OS. 

Time period: 1947-present (varies by index)
Geographic coverage: China
Geographic unit(s): city, county, provincial and national
Unit of observation: statistics
 ​
This database provides access to various statistical yearbooks published by the National Bureau of Statistics of China. For economic and financial information, our current subscription includes national accounts (e.g., GDP), investment, price indices, wages, government finance and banking, agriculture, industry, construction as well as transport, post and telecommunication services statistics at various geographic levels. The University of Washington University Libraries has a China Data Online FAQ and Dictionary that explain how to use this resource. 
  • Data-Planet Provides easy access to an extensive repository of statistics and data sources in various subjects. Major topics are: Finance, Crime, Education, Energy, Food and Agriculture, Government, Health, Housing, Industry, International, Labor, Environment, Population, Income, Cost of Living, Recreation, Stocks, and Transportation.​ ​ 
Time period: 1750-2010
Geographic coverage: international
Geographic unit(s): country
Unit of observation: statistics

IHS is a collection of statistics covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. Find economic and financial information such as agriculture, labour force, finance (e.g., currency, money supply, government expenditure and revenue), prices, industry, and national accounts. Content is divided into three geographical areas: (1) Africa, Asia, Oceania, (2) Americas, and (3) Europe. Tables can be downloaded in Excel format.