Economics

Start here for a comprehensive sample of international economic literature:

• EconLit Indexes and abstracts 400 international journals as well as working papers, dissertations and books. Produced by the Journal of Economic Literature.

Additional sources of peer-reviewed and working papers on economic topics, available through Library subscriptions:

• Academic Search Complete - Comprehensive academic multi-disciplinary database that is updated daily. It provides full text for nearly 6,000 serials.
• Business Source Complete - Topics such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Find articles plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
• Cambridge Core - Cambridge’s economics list is renowned for the breadth and quality of its publishing, including a cluster of key journals such as Econometric Theory, Journal of Economic History and Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis.
• Consensus An academic search engine, powered by AI, but grounded in scientific research. They use language models (LLMs) and purpose-built search technology (Vector search) to surface the most relevant papers. Must create a free account using your UVa email address.
• JSTOR - The complete text (full back runs) of core scholarly journals in Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, and Political Science. 
• Factiva - Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Use "and" between search terms. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles. Logout at the end of a session to avoid problems connecting the next time. 
• ScienceDirect - Access (searching and browsing) journals and eBooks published by Elsevier and its partners. Covers most disciplines, including science, medicine, economics and the social sciences.
• Scopus An abstract and citation database that indexes content from more than 25,000 active titles and 7,000 publishers—all rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board.
• AgEcon Search - Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub-disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.
• Fuente Academica - Scholarly journal articles from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. Covers most subjects, but particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion, sociology. Author keywords are supplied in both Spanish and English.