Indicators and Data
National
Consumer Spending - The nation's primary measure of consumer spending, or personal consumption expenditures
Corporate Profits - A key measure of the financial health of corporate America
Disposable Personal Income - The income that's left after people pay their taxes
Fixed Assets by Type - Buildings, trucks, software, and more used in production for at least a year
Gross Domestic Income - Another way of measuring GDP, using incomes instead of spending
Gross Domestic Purchases Price Index - BEA's featured measure of price changes in the U.S. economy overall
Gross Domestic Product - GDP is a comprehensive measure of the U.S. economy and its growth
GDP Price Deflator - A price measure very similar to the GDP price index
GDP Price Index - Measures changes in prices paid for goods and services produced in the United States
Government Fixed Assets - The lasting assets owned by national, state, and local government
Government Receipts and Expenditures - Taxes, spending, and other transactions of national, state, and local government
Industry Fixed Assets - The fixed assets owned by different industries
Personal Consumption Expenditures Price Index - Measures inflation in the prices paid by people living in the United States
Personal Consumption Expenditures Price Index, Excluding Food and Energy - The core PCE price index excludes two volatile categories to reveal underlying inflation
Personal Income - Wages, Social Security, interest, rents, and other income received by U.S. residents
Personal Saving Rate - The percentage of people's disposable income that they save instead of spending
International
Activities of U.S. Affiliates of Foreign MNEs - Financial and operating data on U.S. affiliates of foreign parent companies
Activities of U.S. Multinational Enterprises (MNEs) - Financial and operating data on U.S. parent companies and their affiliates abroad
Direct Investment by Country and Industry - International investment resulting in control or significant influence over a business
International Transactions (Balance of Payments) - U.S. transactions in goods, services, income, and investment with other countries
International Services (Expanded Detail) - Trade in services and services supplied by affiliates of multinational enterprises
International Investment Position - A balance sheet of U.S. financial assets and liabilities with residents of other countries
New Foreign Direct Investment in the United States - Foreign investment to acquire, establish, or expand a U.S. business enterprise
Trade in Goods and Services - U.S. trade in goods and services with other countries
Consumer Price Index (CPI): Home | News Release | Historical Data
Unemployment Rate: Home (CPS) | News Release | Historical Data
Payroll Employment: Home (CES) | News Release | Historical Data
Average Hourly Earnings: Home (CES) | News Release | Historical Data
Producer Price Index (Latest Statistics-Final Demand, Intermediate Demand, Goods, Services): Home (PPI) | News Release | Historical Data
Employment Cost Index (ECI - Civilian Workers, Compensation, Private Industry, Compensation; State and Local Government, Compensation): Home | News Release | Historical Data
Productivity (Nonfarm Business Sector, Manufacturing Sector): Home | News Release | Historical Data
U.S. Import and Export Price Indexes (IPP - Imports, Exports): Home | News Release | Historical Data
Press releases about monetary policy from the Federal Reserve Board
Business and Economy
The Census Bureau produces economic data across the entire economy on a monthly, quarterly, yearly, and five-year basis.
U. S. Census Bureau Economic Indicators
Economic Indicators: Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
Economic Report of the President: The annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
Budget of the United States Government: Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), thr Budget is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
Trading Economics is a private global economic research provider which licenses access to their data, but provides free public access to current economic data. Their data includes information from 196 countries and includes historical data for more than 20 million economic indicators, exchange rates, stock market indexes, government bond yields and commodity prices. Their data is based on official sources, not third party data providers, and their facts are regularly checked for inconsistencies. They have an extensive list of indicators, and these can be sorted by country. US economic indicators.
Understanding Indicators
The Economist Guide to Economic IndicatorsThe ultimate resource for understanding and interpreting important economic figures.
OECD Handbook on Economic Globalisation IndicatorsThis publication provides guidance on how to measure and interpret measurements of the extent and intensity of globalisation. The manual defines concepts and puts forward guidelines for data collection and fine-tuning of globalisation indicators.
The Trader's Guide to Key Economic Indicators by A handy reference to understanding key economic indicators and acting on them.
Trading Economics: A Guide to Economic Statistics for Practitioners and Students by ISBN: 9781118766385Publication Date: 2014A practical guide to understanding how key economic and market statistics drive financial market trends The recent global financial crisis stressed the need for economists who understand how key economic and market statistics drive financial market trends and how to mitigate the risks for businesses that those trends affect. Trading Economics provides guidance for navigating key market figures in a convenient and practical format. Emphasizing the link between economic data and market movements, this book analyzes surveys, economic growth statistics, inflation, labor markets, international trade, monetary and fiscal indicators, and their relevance in financial markets. It bypasses complex terminology to offer a hands-on, accessible introduction to financial statistics and how to profit from them. Offers clear illustrations and an easy-to-read layout to teach you how to trade profitably in financial markets and minimizes risk for your business Written Trevor Williams and Victoria Turton, authoritative public figures with experience working on the New York Stock Exchange Includes a website featuring a blog and new surveys as they develop accompanies the book Complete with worked examples and updated information, Trading Economics is an essential, comprehensive guide to understanding every aspect of financial market trends and how to navigate them to your advantage.
