M.S. in Global Commerce

• The APA Manual:  APA Style is the Publication Manual of the APA (aka The APA Manual), and is located in many UVA Libraries. Click this link to see where copies of the APA Manual are located. Most must be used in the Library. It has instructions for writing titles and abstracts for your papers and articles, as well as giving examples of proper terminology and reference citations. 

• APA Tutorial  The tutorial shows you how to format your APA paper and cite correctly.

• Presenting Your Findings: A Practical Guide for Creating Tables by Adelheid A. M. Nicol and Penny M. Pexman  Publication Date: 2010  This book provides invaluable guidance on the proper table format for a wide range of statistical analyses in an engaging and accessible format.  

• Displaying Your Findings: A Practical Guide for Creating Figures, Posters and Presentations by Adelheid A. M. Nicol and Penny M. Pexman  Publication Date: 2010  This book provides essential guidance on creating figures that effectively present findings, presenting conference posters, and presentations.

• APA Blog  The APA blog is produced by APA. It is the most authoritative web site for APA information whether it is references, in-text citations or APA style questions such as information about headers. It provides examples of how to cite books, journals, in-text citations, blogs and more. Enter your keyword(s) in the search box at the top right of the site, for example: in-text citation. 

• Purdue University's APA Owl Guide  Quick examples of various was to write APA references and in-text citations. It also provides examples for writing in APA Style. 

• APA In-Text Citations  Great examples of in-text citations. 

• APA In-TEXT Citations (2 minute video)  The 2-minute video shows how to create in-text citations (parentheticals) when you use APA style formatting. 

• Formatting Headers in APA Style by the Purdue OWL  APA Style uses a unique headings system to separate and classify paper sections. There are 5 heading levels in APA. 
  • Level 1 Centered, Boldface, Uppercase and Lowercase Headings
  • Level 2 Left-aligned, Boldface, Uppercase and Lowercase Heading
  • Level 3 Indented, boldface, lowercase heading with a period. Begin body text after the period.
  • Level 4 Indented, boldface, italicized, lowercase heading with a period. Begin body text after the period.
  • Level 5 Indented, italicized, lowercase heading with a period. Begin body text after the period.

• APA Tutorial  The tutorial shows you how to format your APA paper and cite correctly.

• BOOK: APA Simplified  "This is a compact but comprehensive book to writing clearly and effectively in APA style. Demonstrates how to write objective scientific research papers using interesting prose Incorporates guidelines from the 6th edition of the APA publication manual Explores how to develop ideas, connect them to what others have written, and express them clearly." --publisher.  When you finish reading this ebook, please click on the LOGOFF button in the top right of the screen.

• Sample Research Papers Written in APA Style  Shows page formatting, headings, citations, quotations, graphs, and more.

• APA Style Tips (site created by the APA)  Examples and tips about various aspects of APA style. 

• Writing Clearly: Non Bias Writing  This supplemental material from the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual provides guidelines for reducing bias when talking about disabilities.

• Mastering APA (site created by the APA)
  This quiz provides questions and answers to major rules about APA including including what should be in your paper's introduction, methods, and conclusion sections. 

• UVA Quick APA Guide  Sample citations for books, journals, online journals, newspapers, websites, etc.  

• Find Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) for Your APA Citations  When you submit a manuscript for publication, you must include Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) for all of the references that have a DOI assigned. To get DOIs, use the free service, CrossRef. You will need to register for a free account. Do note that to get the DOIs, you can paste all of your references at one time into the CrossRef search box or you can do one reference at a time. If there is a DOI for the articles, it will display in the results box. A digital object identifier (DOI) is a unique alphanumeric string assigned by a registration agency (the International DOI Foundation) to identify content and provide a persistent link to its location on the Internet. The publisher assigns a DOI when your article is published and made available electronically. 

• Example: Muldoon, K., Towse, J., Simms, V., Perra, O., & Menzies, V. (2012). A longitudinal analysis of estimation, counting skills, and mathematical ability across the first school year. Developmental Psychology. Advance online publication. doi:10.1037/a0028240

Common examples of plagiarism include: 

• Self Plagiarism see http://ori.hhs.gov/plagiarism-13
• copying someone else's words without using quotation marks and crediting the source from where it came 
• paraphrasing or summarizing someone else's words without citing the source 
• quoting someone inaccurately 
• restating someone's original or specialized ideas without citing the source 
• accidentally or intentionally misrepresenting someone else's words or ideas 
• citing the wrong source  
• pretending someone else's work is your own

Note: Text isn't the only thing that can be plagiarized. You also must credit the sources of images, graphics, charts, drawings, video, music, etc.

• What is Plagiarism: Examples 

• Use In Text Citations to Avoid Plagiarism 

• Avoiding plagiarism, self-plagiarism, and other questionable writing practices: A guide to ethical writing (U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services) Downloadable PDF: https://ori.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/plagiarism.pdf

• Avoiding Plagarism: Tips from Purdues OWL 

Do you use EndNote for your bibliographic information?  We do not have a license for it at UVA, but you may find it worth the investement.  There is a very good guide available from Monash University on EndNote if you have questions about it. They have information on connecting to various databases includes Factiva, Google Scholar, JSTOR and Web of Science.

• UVA Honor Code  "The University of Virginia’s Honor Code is at once an injunction and an aspiration. The injunction is simple: students pledge never to lie, cheat, or steal, and accept that the consequence for breaking this pledge is permanent dismissal from the University." --UVA Honor Code

• UVA Honor Committee  Learn the rules and your rights regarding academic integrity in writing, project creation, and more. Be sure to view the Resources tab. including translations of the content in Chinese and French with plans for additional languages.

• Understanding Plagiarism and Paraphrasing: A University of Virginia Honor Committee Supplement 

• Best Practices: Defining and Avoiding Plagiarism  Best practices for faculty, students, and the administration to avoid plagiarism. Linked from UVA Honor Committee web site.