M.S. in Global Commerce

Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles. Access, provided through VIVA Consortium, is limited to 70 concurrent users.

News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.

Large general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches, images, and other primary source documents.

AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines. An award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge, it offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers.

This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. It currently contains over 9,600 sources from 160 countries.

Access to several reference works across various disciplines published by Brill, including Encyclopedia of Chinese Language and Linguistics.

Topics such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Find articles plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

Federal, state and international tax research materials. - Federal: Standard Federal Tax Reporter, U.S. Master Tax Guide, IRS Publications, Internal Revenue Code, U.S. Tax Cases, Federal Estate and Gift Reporter, Internal Revenue Manual, and more.- State: 51 state (+D.C.) tax reporters, State Tax Guide, Multistate Corporation Income Tax Guide, Multistate Sales and Property Tax Guides, State Tax Review.- International: Tax Treaties Reporter.

China Statistical Yearbooks (CSYD) contains all key statistical yearbooks published in mainland China, covering various types of census and survey data including analysis reports, statistical summaries, investment material, and data compilations. Content in CSYD is classified by 18 industries, 40 districts and 6 types of documents, and covers a wide range of economic, social, and environmental topics.
Content is in Chinese, with many headings and tables of contents translated into English.
User introduction video link

"Citation Information by NII" enables searching of information on academic papers published in academic society journals or university research bulletins, or included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides coverage of journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.

Journals and other reference sources covering engineering and the business and social aspects of new technology as well as computer theory and systems.

Fulltext articles from 1500 academic journals in 11 subject areas (business/economics, arts & recreation, education, engineering, humanities, language & literature, law & public administration, medicine, natural sciences, social sciences, theology).

The Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users.

International coverage of economics in journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews.

Covers business periodicals in Spanish and Portuguese published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere.

Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. It includes over 30,000 summaries and links to free full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers.

This online market research tool monitors industry trends and provides strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for products across key countries.

Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles. Access, provided through VIVA Consortium, is limited to 70 concurrent users.

Gallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data known as the Gallup World Poll.

Gartner’s Campus Access Tool enables access to the Core Research library which includes white papers, webinars, and more on an array of technology-related topics, including: information technology, administration, medical and healthcare programs, library sciences, industry trends, and analysis.

Find journal articles and other information on environmental issues such as global warming, energy conservation, natural resources and pollution. GreenFILE supports both research and practical steps for individuals.

Quantitative historical data covering American population, work and welfare, economic structure, governance, and international relations from colonial times to the present.

Database provided by the Homeland Security Agency. Find articles, government documents, research papers, and books on all aspects of homeland security, most with links to online full text.

Journals, newsletters, industry reports, and some books covering topics such as culinary arts, development & investment, food & beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure & business travel.

IBIS World provides insight into America's 700+ industries through accurate and current business information focused on economic, demographic and government data.

Provides access to 4 separate IMF datasets:International Financial Statistics – all aspects of international and domestic finance, with history to 1948.Direction of Trade - value of exports and imports between countries and their trading partners, with history to 1980.Balance of Payments - international economic transactions data and International Investment Position, with history to 1960.Government Finance Statistics - budgetary and extra-budgetary financial operations data of governments, with history to 1990.

Unique collection of statistics covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. IHS is a collection of data sets taken from hundreds of disparate primary sources, including both official national and international abstracts. Content is divided into three geographical areas: (1) Africa, Asia, Oceania, (2) Americas, and (3) Europe. Tables can be downloaded in Excel format.

ISA (International Strategic Analysis) delivers world-class international research and analysis to many of the world’s largest companies, financial institutions, government bodies and universities, providing these organizations with the information and insights needed to make key decisions regarding international markets.

iPOLL contains nearly a half-million questions from surveys conducted since 1935 by academic, commercial, and media survey organizations, including CNN, Gallup, AP, the Wall Street Journal, and many others. From the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.

Kanopy provides access to feature films, documentaries, short films, and more. It includes films from The Criterion Collection, California Newsreel, DEFA German Film, Media Education Foundation, Roland Collection, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, Stenhouse, Medcom, Michael Blackwood, Kino Lorber and thousands of other educational filmmakers.
To watch a film off-Grounds: at the "Create your account" page, click on "Skip" to be taken to the video to view.

Full-text archive of major, local, internet, and industry newspapers, magazines, and TV reports since 1990. Some publications go back to the period of Japanese rule.

Find a company's customers, competitors, suppliers, and partners; run comparisons of companies in the same product group; find FDA reports on healthcare companies.

Mergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B®'s private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. The database is searchable by advanced criteria and resources are able to be downloaded and printed.

Information on over 35,000 current and former publicly traded companies, both from the US and from around the world. Company histories and over 200,000 annual reports in pdf, 30 years of stock prices, etc.

The NPCC database presents findings for all 31 provinces, 2,782 county-level units, and specially-administered regions. It includes breakdowns by age, sex, nationality, marital status, and educational level, plus employment by industry and occupation, with detail on vital statistics, housing, and migration. Users can download tables into Excel.

An extensive compilation of political, social, economic, environmental, etc. data on nations from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Can map and graphically compare data on countries as well as individual country profiles.

News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.

The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. Through the OKR, The World Bank collects, disseminates, and permanently preserves its intellectual output in digital form.

PolicyMap is an online data and mapping tool that enables government, commercial, non-profit and academic institutions to access data about communities and markets across the US. Use it for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.

Text of and responses to over 35,000 survey questions from over 14,000 polls taken in the US and 80 other countries since 1986.

ProcurementIQ is a market intelligence partner providing a comprehensive range of products and services that meet the specific needs of procurement departments. It is a division of IBISWorld Inc.

Information by and about the U.S. Congress: documents and reports, Legislative Histories, hearings, and members and committees. Search the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Federal Regulations, The Hill, and Roll Call. Formerly LexisNexis Congressional.

New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, Washington Post, and The Guardian & The Observer.

Providing up-to-date bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, administration and economy, administration and politics, administration and society, administrative structures and organization, public and social services, public service personnel and theory and methods.

Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) provides numerous databases for business and consumer research. It offers access to over 20 million businesses and 222 million consumers.

Journals, newspapers, and newswires from urban and rural areas of the US.

Routledge Handbooks Online brings together leading scholars to provide a cutting-edge overview of classic and current research and future trends in the Social Sciences and Humanities, while at the same time providing an authoritative guide to theory and method, the key sub-disciplines, and the primary debates of today. The Library only subscribes to the Education titles

O’Reilly includes tech and business content from more than 250 publishers - along with videos, case studies, expert-curated learning paths and self-assessments.
From the drop-down menu, choose: Not listed? Click here. Then enter UVa email address to access content.
Instructors: If you are using books on O’Reilly as course textbooks, please be aware that O’Reilly can and does pull titles mid-semester without notice to the Library.

SAGE Research Methods is a methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.

The Social Science & Humanities Library provides online access to a broad range of journal content across 14 disciplines related to social sciences and humanities, including media and communication studies, library and information science, security and defense studies, business, management and economics, and education. Includes many journals published on behalf of associations, organizations, and societies related to these disciplines.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 542,600 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 445,100 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format.

Official statistics related to Japan.

Statistics Korea is a government agency responsible for the dissemination of various statistical data.

Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers over 6 million articles from over 1,500 journals, over 18,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.

World Bank database provides direct access to more than 700 data series, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2006, where data are available.