M.S. in Global Commerce

• ABYZ News Links  A directory of links to online news sources from around the world. It is organized on a geographical basis. It contains links to newspapers and other sites with news content such as broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies.

• Export.gov The U.S. Department of Commerce’s International Trade Association collaborates with 19 U.S. Government agencies to bring you a single source for tools, assistance, and expert knowledge to expand your company's international sales.Areas of interest include Market Intelligence and Trade Data & Analysis. The Country Commercial Guides are a series of guides to doing business in individual countries.  Select the country and report type="country commercial guides" for good background. 

• International Strategic Analysis (ISA)  ISA is an international research and consulting firm headquartered in Luxembourg. It provides country intelligence, economic forecasting, and international market analysis to companies, financial institutions, government bodies, and universities.

• Mergent Intellect Searchable database of US private and public businesses, Canadian private businesses, global businesses, industry segments, employers and jobs, as well as residents and demographics. Find company information, financial information, corporate “family tree” details, executive and people information, and more. Search results can be exported in CSV and XLS files. 

• CIA World Factbook  Descriptive data about countries throughout the world. 

• Country Commercial Guides  A series of guides to doing business in individual countries. Select the country and report type="country commercial guides" for good background.

• FT Ranking of Business Journals 

• Browzine BrowZine provides immediate access to thousands of top scholarly journals in a visually immersive browsing environment. Use the Links in the Blue menu tabs on the left to access business-related collections. Browse new journal issues, read new articles online on your computer, tablet or phone, Email them in one step, or download and save them to your tablet for offline reading. You can send them to RefWorks, Zotero, or Mendeley.

• Google Scholar  A search engine that specifically searches for scholarly literature. It finds peer-reviewed articles, preprints, technical reports, books, theses, abstracts, and even patents and court opinions, from multiple sources.  These include academic publishers, university presses and repositories, professional societies, preprint repositories and the web. The Blue tab on the left menu bar provides information to optimize your search experience including settings, button, citing and search tips.

• SSRN: Social Science Research Network        Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 542,600 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 445,100 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. 

• OSF Preprints: Business A preprint is a complete manuscript shared with a public audience without peer review. Often, preprints are also submitted for peer review and publication in a traditional scholarly journal. Preprints uploaded to OSF Preprints or a community preprint server accelerate scholarly communication and public access. 

• Full Commerce Resources Guide My Commerce guide provides a comprehensive list of business-related resources to assist your research. Explore the Library Commerce Databases box. 

Many of these resources are licensed through the Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) as designated by the 'Access through WRDS' note after their description. They are only available to the McIntire School of Commerce students and faculty.  To use WRDS, you must first set up an account. Go to: https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/wrds/register. You must use your UVa email ID as your user name. If you have any trouble setting up an account, please contact the McIntire Helpdesk. Please login to the WRDS portal before clicking the links.  Remember to close the window when you are done using WRDS resources.

• Compustat - Capital IQ: Financial and accounting data for publicly-traded North American firms. Also executive compensation data. (Access through WRDS)

• Cross-National Time Series Data Archive: More than 200 years of annual data from 1815 onward for over 200 countries. Consists of 196 data variables used by academia, government, finance and media.

• CRSP: Maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets. (Access through WRDS)

• dataZoa: Access to over 3 billion data series on a wide array of topics: economics, banking, finance, demographics, health, child well-being, environment, agriculture, energy and more. 

• Data Discovery: Do you need help finding or accessing data for your research? The UVa Data Librarian can work with you to search for and locate existing data sources, access and use data sources, software tools, and online databases licensed by the library, and understand data documentation and codebooks. We maintain a list of available licensed data sources. 

• Euromonitor Passport: Data and reports on more than 350 consumer product markets, including market size and market share. It also includes data on consumer trends and lifestyles, income and expenditures, and population for many countries.

• Factset: Global institutional, mutual fund, stakeholder, and float-related share ownership and other financial analysis information. (Access through WRDS)

• IBES: Analyst forecasts of company earnings, cash flows, and other important financial items, as well as buy-sell-hold recommendations. (Access through WRDS)

• IMF Data: Time series data on lending, exchange rates, trade, and other economic and financial indicators for more than 200 countries. Our subscription includes access to all four datasets—International Financial Statistics (IFS), Direction of Trade (DOT), Balance of Payments (BOP), and Government Finance Statistics (GFS).

• ISS: Proxy voting and governance data for S&P 1500 firms (Access through WRDS)

• Mergent Online: Company information, financial statements, annual reports, EDGAR filings, stock prices, and more.

• MSCI ESG Stats: Data on companies’ environmental, social and governance practices & performance. (Access through WRDS)

• MSCI GMI Ratings: Data on companies’ governance practices & performance. (Access through WRDS)

• Thomson Reuters: Institutional investor stock ownership data. (Access through WRDS)