Please Note: While the VPN can be a useful tool to convince various resources that you are located on Grounds, and eligible to access them, you may also want to try the Libkey Nomad browser add-on. It allows you to access most articles without the need for the VPN. It also helps you locate the PDF version of the article quickly, or helps you request the full article from the Library if we don't already have access.
VPN: If the Libkey Nomad browser add-on doesn't provide you quick access to materials, you might want to consider using the VPN. The VPN allows you to access UVa Library resources, including Virgo and databases, as if you were on-grounds. Library subscription databases don't require an individual login to access them. They authenticate through the IP address. Using a VPN ensures that the database "sees" your computer as being on an acceptable IP address. Be sure you are also using the database link that is in this guide, or the Library's A-Z database list.
UVa offers four types of VPNs for accessing UVa resources: the UVaAnywhere VPN, the UVa More Secure Network (MSN), the Joint VPN, and the High Security VPN.
UVaAnywhere VPN: Provides an off-Grounds connection to resources that normally require you to be on Grounds to use them such as Library resources, the UVA Home Directory Service, the Exchange Server, servers restricted by departments, etc. It provides an on-Grounds IP address for all applications on your computer, thereby protecting all network traffic, whether or not it is Web-based, between your machine and the UVa network.