Subject Guide
Ricky Patterson
He/Him/His
Using Databases to Find Journal and Magazine Articles
A large amount of the information you will need for Katrinasim is found in magazine and journal articles. There are literally hundreds of specialized databases available for finding this kind of information. Note that VIRGO does not index magazines and journals at the article level -- you must use an article database to research the contents of journals! If you need more help, ask a librarian for assistance in finding and using the best databases for the kind of information you need!
Most of these databases are available from off-Grounds, too – and many contain links to the articles themselves. Click for details on off-Grounds access.
Journal and Magazine Indexes
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowLarge general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
- America: History & Life (1964-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide.
- ASCE Research Library (1995-present) This link opens in a new windowSearch journals and conference proceedings published by the society. Topics include engineering and architecture, coasts, energy, environment, materials, transportation, and water resources.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowLocate articles and book reviews in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning history in journals from many countries.
- Civil Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSearch for publications on civil engineering and related fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, and theoretical mechanics and dynamics.
- Compendex (Ei Compendex*Plus) This link opens in a new windowA "must search" for any engineering topic. Compendex, now part of Engineering Village, is a large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences, and book reviews.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn depth reports on selected issues in the news with lists of recommended books and articles.
- EconLitInternational coverage of economics in journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowJournal articles and some books on topics such as agriculture, the ecosystem, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, law, and policy, and urban planning.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowCompany and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles. Access, provided through VIVA Consortium, is limited to 70 concurrent users.
- Index to Legal Periodicals Full TextLists articles from English-language legal periodicals from 1982-present and has full text for some 200 articles, mostly beginning in the mid 90s.
- MedlineWorld's premiere database for biomedical and health-related topics, including biomedical engineering.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowCovers journal articles in more than 30 languages and books in English about psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education.
- Risk AbstractsSearch for publications of all kinds on public health, safety, and industrial hygiene, including asbestos risk, aviation safety, disaster preparedness, risk management, insurance, and ergonomics.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-present) which can be searched together or separately.
Newspaper and Television News Indexes
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from 200 ethnic, minority, and native publications in the U.S., in English and in Spanish.
- NexisUni This link opens in a new windowNews and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowFull text of major American newspapers and some foreigh newspapers plus selected atories from other US regional newspapers. Also includes full-text of transcripts for television and radio network news broadcasts.
- World News ConnectionInformation from thousands of foreign media sources, including speeches, radio, television, newspapers, periodicals, and books. Includes unclassified military, political, environmental, sociological, scientific and technical data. All in English.
Find@UVa Button
Use the Find@UVA button in your database search results to search for the full text of that journal article online. The results may sometimes look a little confusing, so don't hesitate to ask for help!
Scholarly or Popular?
Is the journal or magazine you're looking at scholarly or popular? Or a trade journal? How can you tell the difference? Take a look at the guide page below for more help and information!
How to Determine Whether a Periodical is Popular or Scholarly