Simulating Hurrricane Katrina (Katrinasim)

This guide outlines some resources available for studying and understanding the Hurricane Katrina disaster.

Reference Books

Sometimes you may need a short introduction to a specific subject, a biography of someone, the definition of a word, a formula, a map, or an explanation for a process. There are many reference books available that contain this kind of information. Many will be available online and others only in print form. Here are a few useful online reference tools:

Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics This link opens in a new window
The articles consider both the professional ethics of science and technology and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society.
EngNetBase This link opens in a new window
Handbooks and other reference books from CRC Press dealing with all areas of engineering.
Knovel Library This link opens in a new window
Large collection of handbooks and other information on chemistry and engineering. Includes textiles, adhesives, metals, plastics, and other materials; biotechnology; food science; pharmaceuticals; industrial safety; aerospace; most areas of engineering.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
A large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.

Referex Engineering Books
Large collection of e-books from Elsevier and some other publishers. Search for keywords or for particular books or browse subject lists. Includes titles on materials, mechanical, electronic, electrical, chemical, petrochemical, and process engineering.
World Almanac
Current facts, statistics, biographies on many topics.