Subject Guide
Ricky Patterson
He/Him/His
Science and Engineering Web Search Engines
While Google and Bing, for example, are fine search engines, there are other web search tools that are optimized for science and technology searches. Try one of these instead!
- AcademicInfo Online Subject GuidesThis in-depth directory is a round up of the best and most useful links and resources within a specific subject area. In most cases it lists both printed reference works and electronic resources. The subject guides are also put together taking into account their accessibility, authoritative sources as well as their ease of use and aim to present a fair and well rounded perspective of the respective subject matter.
- BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search EngineBASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
- Best of the Web - ScienceA categorized listing of web pages relating to science.
- Best of the Web - TechnologyLinks to a wide variety of engineering web sites.
- OSTI: Office of Scientific and Technical Information This link opens in a new windowProvides links to several types of web searching and federated searching of government-produced web resources.
- RefSeekCurrently in public beta, RefSeek is a web search engine for students and researchers that aims to make academic information easily accessible to everyone. RefSeek searches more than one billion documents, including web pages, books, encyclopedias, journals, and newspapers.
- Science.govA searchable directory of U.S. government web resources considered most important and useful by the agencies that sponsor them.
- ScienceResearch.comA free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases.
- Scitation This link opens in a new windowDiscover more than one million documents from scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications from prestigious scientific societies and technical publishers.
- Symbolab - Scientific Equation SearchSymbolab is a semantic web search engine for math and science. It allows users to search for equations, formulas and expressions using mathematical symbols and scientific notations as well as full text search. The stated goal of the site is to provide the most relevant search results that are theoretically and semantically similar, rather than visually.
- WorldWideScience.orgWorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.
Skill Building
Search Google
The search box below will perform a simple search of the Google database. For more complex searches we recommend Google's Advanced Search capability.
To REMOVE search results from your screen, reload this page.
Search Google Scholar
Enter names of authors, titles of articles, key words, etc. in the search box and then check in the results for full text access.
NOTE that not all online resources are indexed by Google Scholar!