Subject Guide
Ricky Patterson
He/Him/His
Pictures and Images (Still Images)
A good picture goes a long way toward making your paper or presentation more interesting and understandable. You should always assume that any image you find on the web carries copyright restrictions, unless it is clearly indicated as being in the public domain or otherwise freely available, and you should check with the owner of an image before using it in papers or presentations if you have doubts about its copyright status. This is especially true if you intend to make your paper or presentation publicly available outside of class, e.g. as a web page or printed document. You should always properly credit the source for any image you use regardless of its origin or copyright status. See separate box below for sources of video images.
- ARTStor This link opens in a new windowARTstor's content includes approximately 500,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology.
- Bing - ImagesThe image searching component of this web search engine offers several unique features in terms of viewing, organizing, and collecting images found on the web.
- FlickrAn image search engine for locating—and sharing—pictures on the web.
- Fotosearch - Stock Photography and Stock FootageThe Fotosearch image search engine allows you to search millions of images from over 100 stock photography, stock illustration, and video footage publishers at one website.
- Google Image SearchThis popular and extensive web search engine provides an option designed for searching for images on the web.
- Historical Image Collection - Smithsonian InstitutionThe Science Service Historical Image Collection represents twentieth-century scientific research consisting of images and original captions as they appeared in period publications.
- Images from the History of MedicineFrom the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). The collection includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine.
- Library of Congress American Memory ProjectGateway to the images and collections of the Library of Congress documenting American history and experience.
- NASA Visible EarthThe purpose of NASA's Visible Earth is to provide a consistently updated, central point of access to the superset of NASA's Earth science-related images, animations, and data visualizations. These images are considered to be public domain.
- National Portrait Gallery (London)Pictures of over 90,000 individuals important to British history, including scientists and engineers.
- NOAA Photo LibraryThe NOAA Photo Library captures the work, observations, and studies carried on by the scientists, engineers, commissioned officers, and administrative personnel of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
- Science and Society Picture LibraryA searchable collection of over 50,000 images relating to science and its role in society. Includes persons, objects, concepts, historical events, etc.
- Science Image OnlineAn image library specializing in science and nature, presented by CSIRO, Australia's major science research organization. Images are copyrighted but are available for private and educational use at no charge. See specific conditions of use for details.
- Science Photo LibraryA leading provider of high-quality science and engineering photographs. Searching the 100,000+ image site is free after registration; use of the photos requires payment.
- StructuraeThis website offers information on works of structural engineering (and architecture) around the world. You will find a diverse range of structures from bridges, skyscrapers and towers to dams and off-shore structures. All periods of history are covered.
- UVa Library Digital Repository Image CollectionsA gateway and search engine to various digitized image collections available to UVA students and faculty. Note that this is an experimental search service and may be unpredictably unavailable.
Pictures and Images (Video)
See the box above for information on sources of still images.
- blinkxIndexes and makes available millions of hours of video content from across the web.
- Google Video SearchThis popular and extensive web search engine provides an option designed for searching for video on the web.
- MERLOT — Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online TeachingMERLOT is a searchable collection of peer reviewed, higher education, online learning materials created by registered members, and a set of faculty development support services.
- MIC — Moving Image CollectionsMIC lets you discover, locate, and (in some cases) view moving images. There are two databases, a union catalog listing the moving image content of MIC's participants, and an archive directory listing organizations that collect moving images.
- MIT OpenCourseWareProvides free, searchable access to the Massachusetts Institute of Technology's course materials for educators, students, and self-learners around the world.
- Open CourseWare ConsortiumThe OpenCourseWare Consortium is a collaboration of more than 100 higher education institutions and associated organizations from around the world creating a broad and deep body of open educational content using a shared model.
- World Lecture HallWorld Lecture Hall publishes links to pages created by faculty worldwide who are using the Web to deliver course materials in any language.
- You TubeA social video sharing service to which members can upload video materials on nearly any subject and anyone can view videos of interest.
Tips
For more information try one of the following:
- Finding Images on the WebA series of web pages by Ruth S. Thomas of Boston University that deal with the complexities of locating imgages and obtaining permission to use them.
- Public Domain Images ResourcesA list of sources for images that are in the public domain. List is maintained by Wikipedia.