The table below lists titles of selected papers of individuals in U.S. public life during the Civil War era, plus a collection of Mathew Brady Photographs, and a collection of 1861 Virginia military records.
|
Title |
Holdings |
Call No. |
|---|---|---|
|
American Women's Diaries: Southern Women 32 diaries. Slave owning and Civil War life well covered. |
34 reels & guide | Micfilm 2246 |
|
American Women's Diaries: New England. Eight diaries, some cover Civil War era. |
21 reels & guide | Micfilm 1741 |
|
Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries.Large set, arrangement by region/state. UVA has Series A-G. See online guides. |
||
|
Records of Ante Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War. Large set, in series (A-N), arranged by region. Call Number Micfilm 1705 See online guides. See also an important finding aid to the guides themselves: A Genealogical index to the guides of the microfilm edition of Records of ante-bellum Southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War. Indexes this set by state and by city and county, by plantation name and by surname of plantation owner. |
||
| Letters Received by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-1865 (National Archives U.S.) | 151 reels |
Micfilm 1756 Ivy Annex |
|
Collected Correspondence of Lydia Maria Child, 1817-1880 Letters of prominent abolitionist and social activist. |
97 fiche & guide | Micfich 751 |
|
History of Women Large microfilm set containing monographs, periodicals, manuscripts and photographs |
See print guide, p.424 entries under "Civil War" |
Micfilm 2159 |
|
Slave Narratives 20th century interviews with former slaves. Library of Congress/WPA, (Micfilm 145) Ohio Historical Society, (Micfilm 1218) |
Guides available for both Micfilm 145 and Micfilm 1218 |
Micfilm 145 (Shannon) Micfilm 1218 (IVY Stacks) |
|
Slavery and Anti-Slavery Pamphlets from the Libraries of Salmon P. Chase & John P. Hale. |
5 reels & guide |
Micfilm 857 |
|
Travels in the Confederate States |
Guide available |
Miccard 3 |
|
Pamphlets In American History |
743 fiche & guide |
Micfich 557 |
Contains digital facsimile images of newspapers; advertisements and illustrations included. Virginia titles covered include papers published in Alexandria, Fredericksburg, Lynchburg, Petersburg, Richmond, Staunton, Warrenton and Winchester. Dates covered are from the early decades of the 19th century to the 1880s. Limit searches to Virginia newspapers by selecting Advanced search or Newspaper search.
See more full-text resources on the U.S. Newspapers Databases page
Texts and page images from 7 African-American newspapers from 1827-1860, and 3 Civil War newspapers: New York Herald, Richmond Enquirer, and Charleston Mercury.
Full text of over 1000 magazines and journals published in the US between 1740 and 1900.
Part of America's Historical Newspapers, this section includes issues published between 1921 and 1967.
Full-text of this journal that was strongly pro-Union during the Civil War. Indexed and searchable. [Harpers Weekly is available in microfilm: Micfilm S-185 (1857-1910)]
Searchable and browseable facsimiles of the New York Times (1851-2006), the Chicago Tribune (1849-1986).
Free resource from the University of Richmond, Tufts University's Perseus Project, and the Virginia Center for Digital History.
Full-text editorials on Dred Scott decision, Nebraska Bill and John Brown at Harpers Ferry from Furman University.
Search our historical newspaper database to find out what UVA Library has in Civil War era U.S. newspaper holdings in microform.