| Author | Description | Call No. | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Terrence V. Powderly Papers | Papers of the leader of the Knights of Labor, a late 19th century labor organization | Micfilm 1713 | |
| The CIO files of John L. Lewis | Papers of the founder and longtime leader of the Congress of Industrial Organizations. Also longtime president of the United Mine Workers | Micfilm 2252 | |
| A. Philip Randolph Papers | Papers of the publisher of The Messenger (the leading journal of the Harlem radicals movement, and leading African-American journal of the Socialist Party), President of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, civil rights leader | Micfilm 2255 | |
| Morris Hillquit Papers | Papers of the Socialist Party theoretician and activist | Micfilm 157 | |
| John Mitchell Papers | Papers of the United Mine Workers President | Micfilm 1642 IVY STACKS |
|
| Papers of Upton Sinclair | In manuscripts room, 2nd floor. Papers of the journalist and activist, candidate for Governor of California | MSS 6777-6777-h | |
| Author | Description | Call No. | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Southern Tenant Farmers' Union Papers | Records of the interracial union of Southern farmers during the Great Depression | Micfilm 286 | |
| Southern Tenant Farmers' Union Papers, supplement, The Green Rising (1910-1977) | Micfilm 976 | ||
| American Federation of Labor and the Unions: National and International Union records from the Samuel Gompers era | Micfilm 1570 | ||
| Operation Dixie: The CIO organizing committee papers 1946-1953 | Records from the CIO's failed attempt to unionize Southern workers in the post-World War II era | Micfilm 1571 | |
| Title | Description | Call No. | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Slave Narratives | The WPA collection of interviews with former slaves during the 1930's | Micfilm 145 | |
| Selected Documents from Records of the Committee on Fair Employment Practice | Headquarters Records | 213 reels and index | Micfilm 1613 |
| A. Philip Randolph Papers (See above) | |||
| Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration 1916-1929 | History of the Diaspora of southern African-Americans to Northern industrial cities during the First World War and the decade after | Micfilm 1636 | |
| Freedmen's Bureau Records | Several collections on microfilm in Gov't Documents library (ask at Gov't Doc's for help) The federal agency created to assist recently freed slaves in the South after the Civil War | ||
| Several larger civil rights collections have links to African-American labor history. Check guides for specific topics: Papers of the NAACP (Micfilm 1568) The Crisis (official journal of the NAACP, edited in its early years by W.E.B. Du Bois) (Micfilm S-79) Papers of CORE (Micfilm 1566-1567) Papers of SNCC (Micfilm 1562) |
|||
| Author | Description | Call No. | |
|---|---|---|---|
| History of Women | Contains much material on women workers | Micfilm 2159 | |
| Pamphlets in American History | See especially sections on labor, women, and socialism. Labor section includes collective bargaining agreements, strike pamphlets, propaganda, etc. | Micfich 557 | |
| Underground Newspapers | A collection of underground publications from the 1960's-1970's, contains some labor publications | N-US-1 | |
| Columbia Oral History Collection | Interviews with leaders of various labor organizations, etc. See guide | Micfich 353 | |
| See also : U.S. Commission on Industrial Relations: testimony and final reports | Testimony from numerous labor leaders, radicals, business leaders, politicians, and others taken before the Walsh Commission, 1912-1915 | Gov't Docs. serial set 6929-6939 | |
| U.S. Commission on Industrial Relations: records of division of research and investigation: reports, staff studies, and background research materials | Records of the investigation of the Walsh Commission | Micfilm 1619 IVY STACKS |
|
| Author | Description | Holdings | Call No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Federationist | Contains most volumes published. Check item record for specific years. Originally journal of the AFL. Later, journal of the AFL-CIO | Stacks HD 8055 AS A2, Darden, Micfilm S-522 | |
| A.F. of L. Rank and File Federationist | vols. 1-2, 1934-1935 | Micfilm S-487 IVY STACKS |
|
| The Headlight / UAW Local 599 | May-July 1941, Jan.-Dec. 1964 | Micfilm S-1407 | |
| Industrial Pioneer | Newspaper of the IWW | 1921-1926 | Micfich S-102 |
| Industrial Union Bulletin | Organizational bulletin of the IWW | vols.1-2, 1907-1909 | Micfilm S-456 IVY STACKS |
| Industrial Unionist | Newspaper of the IWW | vols.1-2, 1925-1926 | Micfilm S-458 IVY STACKS |
| Industrial Union News | Journal of the Detroit IWW, a political organization founded by Daniel DeLeon, not affiliated with the larger organization known as the IWW | Jan 1912-May 1924 | Micfilm S-453 IVY STACKS |
| Industrial Worker | Newspaper for the Western wing of the IWW (Industrial Workers of the World) | vols. 1-5, 1909-1913 | Micfilm S-457 IVY STACKS |
| Ladies' Garment Worker | ILGWU paper | 1910-1918 | Micfilm S-538 |
| Lowell Offering | The journal published by the women textile operators of the Lowell mills in the mid 19th century | Micfich S-10 reel 675 | |
| One Big Union Monthly | Newspaper of the IWW | 1919-1928 | Micfich S-219 |
| United Automobile Worker | Journal of the UAW, important union within the CIO | 1936-1955 | Micfilm 2309 |
| Author | Description | Holdings | Call No. |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Masses | A Socialist magazine which focused on many contemporary issues of the day. Significant especially for its cultural radicalism | 1911-1917 | Micfilm S-86 |
| The Daily Worker | Daily newspaper of the Communist Party | 1938-Jan 1956 | Micfilm N-US NY-25 |
|
The library also holds titles in the Radical Periodicals in the United States set, mostly on microfilm, but a few in print. Do a VIRGO Advanced series search on Radical Periodicals in the United States to locate these titles at UVA. See also Joseph Conlin, ed. The American Radical Press, 1880-1960. Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 1974, for an introduction to the titles in the series |
|||