Microforms

• See also title coverage in Ethnic Newswatch database (UVA only)  

Alabama |   California  |   District of Columbia  |  Georgia |  Illinois |  Indiana    Kentucky |  Maryland  |  Michigan |  Missouri  |  New Jersey  |   New York | Ohio  |  Pennsylvania  | South Carolina |  Texas  | Virginia | Wisconsin

• American Missionary Association. Archives

  The American Missionary Association (AMA) was established in 1846 as an interdenominational missionary society devoted to abolitionist principles. The Association grew directly from the committee organized in 1839 to defend the Africans who had revolted and seized the schooner La Amistad.  Micfilm 72

Click on title links below for VIRGO records containing location of microfilm, subject information and links to online guides, if available.

• Association of Southern Women for the Prevention of Lynching. Papers, 1930-1942

  Micfilm 1541

• Black abolitionist papers, 1830-1865

  "The approximately 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists show the full range of their activities in the United States, Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France and Germany."  Micfilm 1714
   

• Black biographical dictionaries, 1790-1950

  "Written and edited in most cases by blacks, the works reproduced include biographical sketches of individuals from all walks of life - national activists, state and local figures, prominent women, lawyers, artists, musicians, church and missionary society leaders and many more".Micfich 2129

• Black workers in the era of the great migration, 1916-1925

  Micfilm 1636. See online guide.

• The Black power movement. Part 1 Amiri Baraka, from Black arts to Black radicalism

  Micfilm 7480

• The Black power movement. Part 2, The papers of Robert F. Williams

  Micfilm 7480 pt.2

• The Black power movement. Part 3, Papers of the Revolutionary Action Movement, 1962-1996

  Micfilm 7480 pt.3

• The Black power movement. Part 4, The League of Revolutionary Black Workers, 1965-1976

  Micfilm 7480 pt. 4 

• Civil rights during the Johnson administration, 1963-1969

  A collection from the holdings of The Lyndon Baines Johnson Library, Austin, Texas. Micfilm 1569

• Civil rights during the Kennedy administration, 1961-1963

  Micfilm 1764 
   

• Selected documents from records of the Committee on Fair Employment Practice

  Record Group 228 in the custody of the National Archives.
  Micfilm 1613

• Commission on Interracial Cooperation. Papers, 1919-1944

  Micfilm 1563
   

• Congress of Racial Equality. Papers. Addendum, 1944-1968

• Congress of Racial Equality (CORE) Papers

  Micfilm 1567

• Freedmen's Bureau files - VIRGO Search

  United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands. From the National Archives. For Arkansas, District of Columbia, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia.

• Hampton University Peabody Newspaper Clipping File

  Micfich 2157

• NAACP Papers  This link opens in a new window

  See also in Microfilm 1568.

• Martin Luther King, Jr., FBI file

  Micfilm 1715 

• President Truman's Committee on Civil Rights

• Records of ante-bellum southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War

  Be sure and click on See More in VIRGO record for contents of this large set. Micfilm 1705
   

• Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, 1954-1970

  Micfilm 5913 

• Slave narratives : a folk history of slavery in the United States from interviews with former slaves

  Micfilm 145. Guide in Shannon Library , 3 Center. Microfilm reels in Ivy Annex. Call Number Micfilm 145. Guide in Shannon Library 3 Center. Microfilm reels in Ivy Annex. See also digitized version from Library of Congress..

• Southern Tenant Farmers' Union Papers

  Micfilm 286

• Southern women and their families in the 19th century, papers and diaries

  See online guide

• State free Negro capitation tax books, Charleston, South Carolina, ca. 1811-1860

  Micfilm 157

• Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee papers, 1959-1972

  Micfilm 1562

Use Journal Finder to find out if UVA provides access to specific journal or newspaper titles you find listed in any of the resources listed below.. To browse UVA holdings of African American journals and newspapers do a keyword search in Advanced VIRGO on african american periodicals.

The Afro-American Periodical Press, 1838-1909
A history of this subject. PN 4882.5 .B8 1991, Shannon Reference.

African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography 
Annotated listing of more than 6500 titles Listed by title, with indexes by subject, editor, publisher, and geographic area.  Z 6944 .N39 A37 1998, Shannon Reference

Analytical Guide and Indexes to the Colored American Magazine, 1900-1909 (2v)
AP2.C666 R67 1974, Shannon Stacks

Analytical Guide and Indexes to the Voice of the Negro, 1904-1907 
E185.5 .V882, Shannon Stacks

Ante-bellum Black Newspapers
Covers the New York's Freedom's Journal (1827-1829), The Rights of All (1829), The Weekly Advocate (1837), and The Colored American (1837-1841). Indexed by subjects and names. 
E 185.5 .J33, Shannon Stacks.

Antislavery Newspapers and Periodicals (5v) 
Indexes letters to abolitionist and reform newspapers.
AI3 .B55, Shannon Stacks

Black Index: Afro-Americans in Selected Periodicals, 1907-1949. 
Subject and author guide to over 1,000 articles in more than 350 periodicals of the United States.
Z1361.N39 N58, Shannon Reference

Black Journals of the United States 
Historical guide to periodicals and newspapers, covering the period 1827 - 1980's. Entries include circulation figures, and bibliographical information. One of the appendices lists titles by geographical location.  PN4882.5 D36 1982, Shannon Reference

In Black and White: A Guide to Magazine Articles, Newspaper Articles and Books concerning more than 15,000 Black Individuals and Groups. 2v and suppls. Newspapers cited are not black papers but titles like the New York Times, Chicago Tribune, etc. Z1361.N39 S655, Shannon Reference.

Index to Black Periodicals (and its predecessors Index to Periodicals By and About Blacks and Index to Periodicals By and About Negroes) 
Coverage:1950-1998, this is the most comprehensive index to articles in black mainstream periodicals. AI3 .O4, Shannon Reference

The Kaiser Index to Black Resources, 1948-1986. (5v) 
From the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture of the New York Public Library. Covers articles from 164 periodicals, entries arranged by subject. No index.
Z1361.N39 K34 1992, Shannon Reference.
 
A Reference Guide to Afro-American Publications and Editors, 1827-1946 
Z6944 .N39 P63 1993, Shannon Reference
 
Roots of Afrocentric Thought: a Reference Guide to Negro Digest / Black World, 1961-1976.
Part 1: annotated index to articles between 1961 and 1976 in the categories of literature and literary criticism, history, mass media and the arts, social & political analysis. Part 2: bibliography of creative works, reviews, and interview in these two journals." 
E185 .N3815 R66 1998, Shannon Stacks
 

MICROFORM TITLES

• Adams Family Papers, Micfilm 2221
  Guide not indexed by topic, so user will have to study guide to locate material on slavery.
  
  
• Ball Family Papers, Micfich 1744
  Good print index to papers of this prominent South Carolina family. See entries under Slave Registers, Slave Lists, 1784-1834, and Overseer Agreements, 1813 & 1818
   
• American Women's Diaries: New England, Micfilm 1741
  One date-relevant item is indexed in this set’s guide under “slavery”: Diary of Ruth Henshaw Bascom 1789-1846 for 1801-1803 descriptions of slave markets  (reel 1)  

• Black Culture Collection  Micfilm S-148 (Ivy Annex)

Not a lot, but some good material in this collection:

- American Society for Colonizing the Free People of Color. Annual reports from 1818,1821,1824,1827,1829-35, 1841-42….to 1910 with gaps  (reel 11)

- Bacon, Ephraim. Abstract of a Journal…E. bacon, U.S. Assistant Agent for the reception of recaptured negroes on the Western Coast of Africa. Containing an account of the first negotiations for the purchase of lands for the American colony… (reel 15-5)

- Clay, Henry. Speech before the American Colonization Society (reel 12-8)

• Draper Manuscripts, Micfilm 49
  Potentially one of the most  fruitful sources on this list -- see numerous entries under “negroes: and “slavery” in print guide
   
• Early American History Research Reports, Micfich 2019
  not many items, but these few look relevant:
  
  - Plantation housekeeping in colonial Virginia by Jane Carson(1974) (fiche HI57)
  - Notes on the negro school in Williamsburg, 1760-1774, Mary A. Stephenson
  (1963) (fiche HI52)

• Early American imprints. Second series  Mcprnt 8

sample titles:

- Extracts from documents in the Departments of State, the Treasury, and of the Navy, in relation to the illicit introduction of slaves into the United States (1819)

- The Sorrows of Yamba, or, The Negro woman's lamentations, Micprnt 8 no. 49460

- Letter to a member of the General Assembly of Virginia on the subject of the late conspiracy of the slaves [microform] : with a proposal for their colonization (1801) Micprnt 8 no. 819

- Joint resolution for abolishing the traffick in slaves and the olonization [sic] of the free people of colour of the United States : February 11, 1817.... Micprnt 8 no. 42596

• Land tax books/ Albemarle County, Micfilm 7490 
  See following reels: Reel 1. Land tax book, 1782-1798. -- Reel 2. Land tax book, 1799-1814. -- Reel 3. Land tax book, 1814-1825. -- Reel 4. Land tax book, 1825-1835
  
  
• Minute book/Albemarle County, Micfilm 7491
  see reel 1 1830-1838 for Albemarle County court records

• Pennsylvania Society for Promoting the Abolition of Slavery. Papers of the Pennsylvania Abolitionist Society, 1775-1975 Micfilm 1589
   
• Records of Southern Plantations, Micfilm 1705
  sample materials:
  
  - Levin Winder papers, 1813-1815, Baltimore, Maryland : also Frederick County, Maryland  (slave insurrection covered in this material) Micfilm 1705 ser. F pt. 3 reel 43
  
  - Slavery manuscript series, 1784-1865, Louisiana. (Slave bills of sale in this collection)
  Micfilm 1705 ser. H reel 20
  
  - Valcour Aime slave records, 1821-1850, St. James Parish, Louisiana : RG 99 (Louisiana State Museum), Micfilm 1705 ser. H reel 1
  
  - Slave import register, Richmond County, Georgia, 1820-1821 [microform.] / Duke University. Library. Manuscript Dept, Micfilm 1705 ser. F pt. 2 reel 1
  
  
• Southern Women and Their Families in the 19^th Century; Papers and Diaries , Series A-F,
  Micfilm 5727

Very large set. In individual print guides see subject index entries under African Americans/slavery. There are online version guides, but they are not easily searchable, print guides better to use.
 

• State Slavery Statutes, Micfich 2193  
   
• Survey Reports of the Virginia Colonial Records Project, Micfilm 7477
  2 volume guide is not a subject index
   
• Virginia Gazette, Micfilm N-US Va-9
  Virginia newspaper.  See print index for 1736-1780: see many entries under “slave labor”, “slave trade” “slavery” for relevant dates.  See also Historical Newspaper Database at http://www.lib.virginia.edu/permic/newspapers/us-historical-search.html for index of microfilmed U.S. titles for the 1770-1830 period. No subject indexes.

     

ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

• Early American imprints. series I., Evans (1639-1800)
  sample titles:

- Banneker, Benjamin, 1731-1806. Copy of a letter from Benjamin Banneker to the secretary of state, with his answer
Note: Addressed to Thomas Jefferson, transmitting a copy of the writer's almanac and discussing the subject of slavery.  (Also on Micfich 1077, no. 24074.)

- Effects of slavery, on morals and industry [microform] / by Noah Webster, Jun. Esq. Counsellor at law and member of the Connecticut Society for ehe [sic] Promotion of Freedom. (Also on Micfich 1077, no. 26448).

- A narrative of the proceedings of the black people, during the late awful calamity in Philadelphia, in the year 1793: and a refutation of some censures, thrown upon them in some late publications... [treatment of blacks in yellow fever epidemic] (Also on Micfich 1077, no. no. 27170)

- Expostulatory letter to George Washington, of Mount Vernon, on his continuing to be a holder of slaves [microform] / Rushton, Edward, 1756-1814.  (1797) 
(Also on Micfich 1077, no. no. 32785.)

- Observations on the slavery of the Negroes, in the southern states [microform] : particularly intended for the citizens of Virginia, / by Juvenis (1785)  (Also on Mich 1077, no. 44751)

• Major 19th century African-American Newspapers, 1827-1860
  (see Freedom's Journal, 1827-1830)
• The Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
  Fruitful resource.
• American Periodicals Series Online
  sample periodical titles: Abolition intelligencer and missionary magazine (1822-1823);
  Genius of universal emancipation, 1821-1839; The African intelligencer (American Colonization Society), 1820

Print/Gov Docs

Virginia slave-trade statistics, 1698-1775 / edited by Walter Minchinton, Celia King, and Peter Waite.
VSL 8/Sl 1,   Gov Docs

compiled by Barbie Selby