Welcome
Welcome to the ENGR library dashboard. The dashboard provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Maggie Nunley
Each school/department at UVA is assigned a research librarian. 
Connect with Maggie for help with your assignments. This service is available to all SEAS students, and meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and get a better grade.
Maggie can help with any step in the research process and can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Watch library tutorials
- Navigating the Library websiteLearn how to locate information on the UVA Libraries webpage.
- Finding a library locationMaps, walking directions, and more.
- Help with researchSubject help, tutorials, and common questions... we're here to help!
- Searching for articles and using databasesNot everything is available directly in Virgo — learn how to access academic articles using databases.
- Off-grounds accessYou may need a VPN or other tool when you're not directly on UVA's network.
- Policies about using the LibraryLibrary policies about access, circulation, privacy, and much more.
- Finding a book in the LibraryLearn about the process of locating a book at the UVA Libraries.
- How to use InterLibrary LoanA quick guide to Interlibrary loan and how to request material through UVA Library.
Search Virgo
- Getting Started with VirgoUse the link above to open a full-screen version of the PDF below.
- Navigating VirgoInteractive guide to Virgo navigation.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Watch tutorials
Fusion 360 Resources
Download Fusion 360 for Education (it's free!)
LinkedIn Learning ENGR 1010 Collection
Through your UVA Library license with LinkedIn Learning, you have access to free trainings and tutorials that include modules on Fusion 360. Feel free to use these as supplemental support.
Additional Support:
- LinkedIn Learning- For Students and Faculty This link opens in a new windowLinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning company that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Members have access to the lynda.com video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.
- Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new windowOxford's Very Short Introductions series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects — from Public Health to Buddhist Ethics, Soft Matter to Classics, and Art History to Globalization. Each volume provides an authoritative and engaging assessment of a concept, field, or body of work, drawing out the central ideas, themes, and approaches.
Access to: Arts & Humanities, Law, Medicine & Health, Science & Mathematics, and Social Sciences.
Explore Resources for your major
- Applied Mathematics
- Biomedical Engineering
- Chemical Engineering
- Civil & Environmental Engineering
- Computer Science
- Electrical & Computer Engineering
- Engineering Science
- Materials Science & Engineering
- Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
- Science, Technology, and Society
- STAT 4996: Expanding Your Data
- Systems and Information Engineering
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowAccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool that provides seamless access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowCitations and full-text of articles from ACM journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings relating to the computing industry.
- ASTM Science and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
- Compendex (Ei Compendex*Plus) This link opens in a new windowA large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences. Includes book reviews.
- CRCnetBase This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text of hundreds of reference handbooks in engineering, chemistry, biology, medicine, technology and the environment.
- Engineering Research Database This link opens in a new windowPart of Materials Science & Engineering Collection. Covers research in civil, earthquake, environmental, mechanical, forensic and transportation engineering, engineering services, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, design and construction.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowFind articles and other information from the journals, proceedings and standards published by IEEE and by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Full-text is from 1988 to present with some selected earlier content.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research