Data Librarian
Government Documents
Federal: Congressional Documents
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowInformation by and about the U.S. Congress: documents and reports, Legislative Histories, hearings, and members and committees. Search the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Federal Regulations, The Hill, and Roll Call. Formerly LexisNexis Congressional.
- Congress.govBill tracking and links to full text.
Federal: Legislative Documents
- Legislative Insight This link opens in a new windowFederal legislative history service. Includes the Public Law, all versions of related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, prints, Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and additional background material.
- LexisNexis Academic (now NexisUni) This link opens in a new windowNews and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
- Hein Online This link opens in a new windowRetrospective, full-text .pdf coverage of hundreds of legal periodicals, U.S. Supreme Court cases, the U.S. Statutes at Large, Congressional Record, hearings and other legislative history materials, Federal Register, U.S. Attorney General opinions, U.S. treaties and agreements, Foreign and International Law, Israel Law Reports, English Reports, Hague Academy Recueil des Cours, Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law collection, and the Virginia Law Weekly archive. Searchable by citation, author/title, and keyword.
- Caselaw Access ProjectThe Caselaw Access Project (“CAP”) expands public access to U.S. law.
Their goal is to make all published U.S. court decisions freely available to the public online, in a consistent format, digitized from the collection of the Harvard Law Library. This is a good source if you are alumni or a community patron of the library, without access to Lexis. - LawAtlas.orgLawAtlas.org publishes interactive maps that detail state and federal regulations on dozens of public health–related topics. Among them: e-cigarettes, HIV criminalization, fair housing, syringe distribution, and cell phone use while driving.
- See Also: Law LibraryVisit the UVA Law Library website for quality legal information resources and services.
Federal: Executive Documents, including Military and Technical
- ProQuest Regulatory Insight This link opens in a new windowRegulatory Insight creates regulatory histories for individual federal statutes and Executive Orders by compiling pertinent Federal Register articles into a research-friendly workspace similar to the workspace provided in Legislative Insight.
- US Technical ReportsResearch guide covering where to find technical reports such as Dept of Energy, EPA, NASA, NTIS, and TRAIL.
- Index to Military Periodicals This link opens in a new windowLists articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. Current index begins in 1988, but the Historical Index goes back to 1949.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowMagazines and academic journals providing news about defense issues for all branches of the armed services, army, air force, navy, marines. Also includes country reports and relevant government and international documents.
State and Local Government Documents
- HeinOnline: Subject Compilations of State Laws (1960-2018)Subject Compilations of State Laws is the most comprehensive source for identifying thousands of articles, books, government publications, loose-leaf titles, court opinions, and websites that compare state laws on
hundreds of subjects. Find your topic, then peruse the bibliography to discover related state laws.
- LexisNexis Academic (now NexisUni) This link opens in a new windowNews and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
- National Conference of State Legislatures - ResearchNCSL is a good place to find information about issues facing state legislatures.
- Council of State GovernmentsCSG is a region-based forum that fosters the exchange of insights and ideas to help state officials shape public policy.
- National Governors Association"Through NGA, governors identify priority issues and deal with matters of public policy and governance at the state, national and global levels."
- National Association of CountiesNACo advocates for county priorities at a federal level and promotes county policies.
- United States Conference of MayorsThe United States Conference of Mayors is the official non-partisan organization of cities with a population of 30,000 or larger.
- National League of CitiesNLC represents the interests of cities, towns, and villages.
International and Foreign Documents
- UN iLibrary This link opens in a new windowThe United Nations iLibrary is the first comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations. It provides a single digital destination for seamlessly accessing publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs. Every year around 500 new titles are planned to be added to United Nations iLibrary, approximately 70% of which are in English.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowFull text (in PDF format) of all books, reports, periodicals, and statistical databases published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
- World Bank Documents and ReportsDocuments & Reports, previously known as World Development Sources (WDS) contains more than 240,000 publicly available World Bank documents that enable sharing the institution's extensive knowledge base and implementing its access to information policy.
- Foreign Law Guide (Brill)Guide to finding sources of codes and legislation from countries around the world.
- HeinOnline: Foreign and International Law Resources DatabaseFILRD includes the publications of the American Society of International Law along with prominent Yearbooks from around the world, including the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series.It also includes U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions and more.
- ECOLEX: A Gateway to Environmental LawInformation service on environmental law, which combines the environmental law information holdings of FAO, IUCN and UNEP. The ECOLEX database includes information on treaties, international soft-law and other non-binding policy and technical guidance documents, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature. Users have direct access to the abstracts and indexing information about each document, as well as to the full text of most of the information provided.