Data Science
This Guide is in support of the research and teaching needs of the School of Data Science at UVA
Data Librarian
Academic Articles and Books
Academic article databases are often broken up by discipline. It helps if you know in advance what academic literature you want to search: political science, economics, psychology, education, sociology, health, science, etc. Here are links to the essential databases that will help you find articles in those fields, as well as links to research guides that provide more detail in those areas. Of course, check out Virgo, UVA Library's catalog, for books.
- Books and Dissertations
- Data Science, Computing, and Math
- Health
- Political Science
- Economics and Business
- Education, Psychology, and Sociology
Of course, you can always rely on Google Scholar or an AI-powered research site like Elicit.org for a general (non-discipline specific) search.
- Google ScholarSearches scholarly articles and gives links to cited sources
- Elicit.orgElicit is a research assistant using language models like GPT-3 to automate parts of researchers’ workflows. Currently, the main workflow in Elicit is Literature Review. If you ask a question, Elicit will show relevant papers and summaries of key information about those papers in an easy-to-use table.
If you don't see your discipline listed here, check our full listing of Research Guides:
Additionally, Web of Science and Scopus are good for any science or social science article search. They are both very broad in terms of discipline, and also very expansive in their coverage.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Book Citation Index- Science (2005-), Book Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (2005-), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-), Index Chemicus (1993-), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is an abstract and citation database that indexes content from more than 25,000 active titles and 7,000 publishers—all rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
Find Books and Dissertations
- Virgo - UVA Library's CatalogYou can look for books and more with Virgo, UVA Library's Catalog.
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowFull text (PDF) of most US dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
See also Finding Dissertations
Data Science, Computing, Math, and Engineering
These are your best databases for finding academic articles related to Data Science, especially computing and math.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowFind articles and other information from the journals, proceedings and standards published by IEEE and by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Full-text is from 1988 to present with some selected earlier content.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
- ProQuest SciTech Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database combines full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowCitations and full-text of articles from ACM journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings relating to the computing industry.
- American Energy Society This link opens in a new windowThe American Energy Society is the largest association for energy professionals. Providing non-partisan energy news, insights, and professional development opportunities, AES is a trusted voice with a mission to solve the world's greatest energy and environmental challenges. AES represents over 135,000 energy professionals in every field and sector in academia, national laboratories, government, and industry in the United States and internationally. All current publications, archives, media, tools, and services are available through the Member Portal.
Note: You must create an account using an active virginia.edu email address to activate your membership. - Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new windowJournals and other reference sources covering engineering and the business and social aspects of new technology as well as computer theory and systems.
- Computer and Information Systems Abstracts This link opens in a new windowPart of the Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection. Lists journal articles, conference proceedings, tech reports, patents, books, and industry news on topics such as artificial intelligence, information systems, computer applications/programming, hardware, software engineering and mathematics of computing.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowCombines the databases Compendex, Inspec, Inspec Archive, and NTIS with one search interface.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - LISTA: Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new windowLists journal articles, books, proceedings, etc. on topics such as libraries, history of the book, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, the information industry, scholarly communication and electronic publishing.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowMathSciNet (from the American Mathematical Society) contains information on over 4 million articles and books, with direct links to over 2.7 million articles in over 1,800 journals covering pure and applied mathematics. MathSciNet includes expert reviews (dating back to 1940), disambiguated author profiles, and citation information (dating back to the 1880s). on articles, books, journals, and authors. Over 80,000 expert reviews are published each year, and the database is updated hourly.
- Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods is a methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly includes tech and business content from more than 250 publishers - along with videos, case studies, expert-curated learning paths and self-assessments.
From the drop-down menu, choose: Not listed? Click here. Then enter UVa email address to access content.
Instructors: If you are using books on O’Reilly as course textbooks, please be aware that O’Reilly can and does pull titles mid-semester without notice to the Library.
Health
- Medline (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowAll aspects of biomedicine and allied health fields plus other biological, physical and social sciences as they relate to health and medicine. The 3 versions have the same contents, but different interfaces and update schedules.
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new windowMedical dictionaries and encyclopedias, image and video collections and works on specific health and wellness topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition, generic and brand-name drugs, children's, men's & women's health.
- CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing, Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new windowArticles from English-language journals plus healthcare books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, professional standards, software and audiovisual materials.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowCitations from MedLine and other biomedical articles from the 1950s on. UVa also has direct access to the Medline database through 3 other vendors.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowCollection of e-books on medical science and clinical medicine plus drug information, patient education information, clinical practice guidelines and study guides. RSS feeds and podcasts provide updates. Please logout after use.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowClinicalKey supports healthcare professionals and students with the latest evidence across specialties in a variety of formats, including full-text reference books and journals, point-of-care monographs, drug information, videos, practice guidelines, customized patient education handouts, clinical calculators and more.
- See Also: Health Science LibraryVisit the Claude Moore Health Science library website for quality health resources and library services.
Political Science
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowPolitical Science Complete provides nearly 340 full-text reference books and monographs and more than 44,000 full-text conference papers, which includes those from the International Political Science Association. The database also provides a subject-specific thesaurus with more than 23,500 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers.Subject coverage includes comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
Economics and Business
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage of economics in journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews.
- NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new windowNational Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) researchers initially report their findings in scientific papers aimed at other professional economists in this searchable database. Nearly 700 NBER Working Papers are published each year.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Topics such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Find articles plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
Education, Psychology, and Sociology
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowLarge database covering journal articles, conference papers and some books on all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowERIC provides access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles, most of which are peer-reviewed, and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If available, links to full text are included.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowBeginning in the 1800s, covers journal articles in more than 30 languages and books in English about psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.