Data Librarian
Find News and Popular Media
Local, National, and International News Sources:
- Access World News is great for small, local news sources (such as the Daily Progress). Includes smaller, local international sources.
- LexisUni and Factiva are both good choices for big, national- and international-level coverage.
- New York Times and Wall Street Journal are a good choices if you just want to go directly to the online version of the paper (unlike the rest of these online library database).
- Politico Pro and CQ Researcher are good choices for political coverage and editorials about such topics.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowBest for finding smaller local papers (includes international)
- NexisUni This link opens in a new windowBest for national and broad international news coverage. Also some legal resources (US and state codes).
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowBest for national and broad international news coverage. Also special company and business coverage.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowOnline access to the New York Times includes full entry to the archives from 1851 to present day. Features include Spanish and Chinese editions plus hundreds of articles published in other languages and access to The New York Times Magazine. There is a 5 PDF download limit per day.
Users must be On-Grounds or have their VPN turned on and then will have to create an account with NYTimes. Access does not include Cooking, Games/Crosswords, or The Athletic.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowAccess to WSJ.com, the WSJ App, and the WSJ Archives. Students will have access until their graduation date; faculty and staff must renew using this link annually.
You must create an account using your UVA email address. - Politico Pro E&E News This link opens in a new windowE&E News provides essential energy and environment news for professionals through five daily publications.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowFocus is on hot topics in US policy. In-depth reports on selected issues in the news with lists of recommended books and articles.
- Look up a specific newspaperUse our journal finder to look up a specific newspaper, e.g., Washington Post.
Charlottesville and Virginia Independent News:
These sources are not covered by the news databases listed above. These are independent, non-profit local news sources. Access World News (listed above) includes local, non-independent news sources, such as the Daily Progress and the Richmond Times Dispatch.
- Charlottesville TomorrowTagline: "Charlottesville's source for public service journalism." Covers Charlottesville area. Special focus on race and equity.
- Virginia MercuryTagline: "A new look at the Old Dominion." Covers Virginia state government and policy.
Foreign News:
- BBC Monitoring International Reports, 1980-current (UVA only)Provided by Lexis/Nexis Academic. News and information based on round-the-clock monitoring of radio, TV, press, internet and news agency sources around the world is provided by BBC Monitoring. Reports are translated into English from more than 100 languages
- Translations of Foreign Media Research GuideThis research guide helps you find Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) and Joint Publication Research Service (JPRS) reports. These are English translations of local news reports. Coverage varies, but is strongest from the 1960s-2016, especially for regions of the world affected by the Cold War.