Data Librarian
Browzine
Academic Articles and Books
Academic article databases are often broken up by discipline. It helps if you know in advance what academic literature you want to search: education, psychology, sociology, history, global development, etc. Here are links to the essential databases that will help you find articles in those fields, as well as links to research guides that provide more detail in those areas. Of course, check out Virgo, UVA Library's catalog, for books.
We have librarians who specialize in all of these areas. If you are having trouble finding resources in these areas, you should reach out to them. You can figure out who to reach out to by going to the Research Guide for that area, and contacting the person listed on the page. (Or reach out to the person listed on this page, and I'll get you connected!)
If you don't see your discipline listed here, check our full listing of Research Guides:
Additionally, Web of Science is good for any science or social science article search. It is very broad in terms of discipline, but also very expansive in its coverage.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
Find Books and Dissertations
- Virgo - UVA Library's CatalogYou can look for books and more with Virgo, UVA Library's Catalog.
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowFull text (PDF) of most US dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
See also Finding Dissertations
Education, Psychology, and Sociology
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowLarge database covering journal articles, conference papers and some books on all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowERIC provides access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles, most of which are peer-reviewed, and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If available, links to full text are included.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowBeginning in the 1800s, covers journal articles in more than 30 languages and books in English about psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.
History and Global Development
- America: History & Life (1964-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowFind articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.