Welcome
Welcome to the library portal for AMST 3001: American Studies Theories and Methods. This portal provides quick links to resources that will be useful for your course. For more specialized resources, you can consult the library's other research guides, including those for English, History, Education, Sociology, African American Studies, Indigenous Studies, LatinX Studies, Women's Studies, and Media Studies.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Chris Ruotolo
Each school/department at UVA is assigned a research librarian. 
You can connect with Chris at any point during the semester for help with your research and assignments in American Studies. Meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and obtain better results.
Chris can help with: learning how to use the Library's online catalog and databases, finding books and journal articles in print and electronic format, refining your research topic and your search strategies, and managing your citations. She can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Citation and Bibliography Tools
In order to organize and manage your citations, consider using a Citation Manager like Zotero. More information on Zotero and other citation managers can be found on the Citation Managers Guide.
Researching cultural objects
Search core databases for American Studies
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowLarge general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches, images, and other primary source documents.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The Archive Journal Collection is included.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - America: History & Life (1964-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
- MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco) This link opens in a new windowLists books plus articles and essays from journals and books on literature, linguistics, and folklore. Before 1956 covered only scholarship published in North America.
See also selected databases for African American Studies, Latinx Studies, American Indian Studies, Asian/Pacific American Studies, and Gender & Sexuality Studies.
Search newspaper archives
For current newspapers, LexisNexis and Factiva are your best bets. Consult the newspapers guide for more information.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowNew York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, Washington Post, and The Guardian & The Observer.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1690-1991
Searchable full text collection of US newspapers. For additional titles see 19th Century U.S. Newspapers. - Chronicling America This link opens in a new windowChronicling America allows you to search and view millions of American historic newspapers, published 1836-1922 as well as discover more about newspapers published in the U.S., 1690-present.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
