Without logging in to UVa Dataverse Repository, users can browse UVa Dataverse content, search for dataverse collections, datasets, and files, view dataset descriptions and files for published datasets (restricted & not restricted) data files.
A user can search within a specific Dataverse collection for the Dataverse collections, datasets, and files it contains by using the search bar and facets displayed on that Dataverse collection’s page. For example, if you are in the Environmental Science dataverse collection, you can search that specific collection contents by using the search bar and/or facets displayed on the page.
From UVa’s Dataverse repository homepage, you can search the entire contents of UVa’s Dataverse repository, which includes sub-collections, datasets and files. You can search within a sub-collection with an exact phrase search or entering a search term or query in the search box (on the left) that says, “Search this dataverse”. If you have navigated to a sub-collection, to search ALL dataverse collections, use the search dropdown on the header of every page. The search bar accepts search terms, queries, or exact phrases (in quotations).
Facets: to the left of the search results, there are several facets a user can click on to narrow the number of results displayed.
Choosing a facet: to choose a facet to narrow your results by, click on that facet.
Removing a facet: A chosen facet can be removed by clicking on the X on it, either in the facets panel to the left, or above the results.
Viewing more or fewer facets: Each category in the facets panel lists the top 5 most common facets from that category. To view more, click on “More…” in the bottom right of that category. Once you’ve chosen to see more, an option to view less will appear in the bottom left of the facet.
Results: after entering a search term or query, results (dataverse collections, datasets, or data files) that match your term or query appear underneath the search bar and to the right of the facets.
Relevancy of results: each results shows which metadata fields match the search query or term you entered into the search bar with the matching term or query bolded. If the search term or query was found in the title or name of the dataverse collection, dataset, or file, the search term or query will be bolded within it.
Other basic search features:
Sorting results: search results can be sorted by name (A-Z or Z-A), newest or oldest, or relevancy of results. The sort button can be found above the search results, in the top right.
Bookmarkable URLs: search URLs can be copied and sent to a fellow researcher or can be bookmarked for you to be able to return to at a later time.
To perform an advanced search, click the “Advanced Search” link next to the search bar. There you will have the ability to enter search terms for Dataverse collections, Dataset Metadata (citation and domain-specific), and file-level metadata. If you are searching for tabular data files you can also search at the variable level for name and label. To find out more about what each field searches, hover over the field name for a detailed description of the field.
You can browse selected dataverse collections or all of LibraData from the home page by clicking on a dataverse collection at the bottom of the page, or select “Browse all LibraData Datasets” to browse all of LibraData. Browsing is the default for a user when they are on a specific dataverse collection’s page. When browsing, only dataverse collections and datasets appear in the results list and the results can be sorted by Name (A-Z or Z-A) and by Newest or Oldest. You can toggle the “Files” facet on the left to include files in the results list.