LibGuides: Latinx Studies: ARTICLES: Article Finders

Article Finders about Chicanx/Latinx Studies

Portals and Databases
Open Access Repositories

Chicano Database
Produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, this bibliographic index covers a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants from 1992 onwards.
Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI)
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Chicanx/Latinx, Latin America and the Caribbean since 1970. Our coverage includes everything from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities. HAPI currently indexes over 380 journals and includes the contents of over 675 journals dating back to our start in the 1970s
America History & Life (1964-present) (History)
Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
MLA International Bibliography. (Literature & Folklore)
Classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. Articles about Chicanx and Latinx Literature included.
Women's Studies International
Find journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses & dissertations, documents and other materials on all aspects of women's studies.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Broader Databases that Include Chicanx/Latinx Studies

Academic Search Complete (General)
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. Chicanx and Latinx Studies included.
Social Science and Humanities Library (General)
Provides online access to a broad range of journal content across 14 disciplines related to social sciences and humanities, including media and communication studies, library and information science, security and defense studies, business, management and economics, and education
ATLA Religion
Lists articles on all aspects of religious studies from journals in many disciplines. Includes citations to book chapters and to book reviews. ATLASerials adds the full text of many journals.
Historical Abstracts (History)
Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Included articles covering Chicanx/Latinx Studies published in other countries than United States.
Anthropology Plus (1890-present) (Antropology)
Find articles, reports, and other materials on social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies. Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard's Tozzer Library and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute.
SocINDEX (Sociology)
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.
ERIC (Education)
You can search this database using different interfaces:
ERIC (Ebsco) or ERIC (ProQuest) or ERIC (U.S. Department of Education)
ERIC provides access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles, most of which are peer-reviewed, and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If available, links to full text are included.
Fuente Académica
Fuente Académica offers more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.
Dialnet
Cover the social Sciences and Humamities production published in Spain, Portugal and Latin American. Includes articles covering the perspectives about Chicanx/Latinx Studies from these countries. Partial full text.

Repositorio Nacional Mexico
The National Repository is a digital platform that provides open access in full text to various resources of academic, scientific and technological information, that is to say, without subscription, registration or payment requirements. In the Repository can be consulted, among other materials: articles of scientific journals, theses elaborated in institutions of higher education, research protocols, memoirs of congresses and patents, as well as other academic documents that are produced in Mexico with public funds.
Google Scholar (Google Académico)
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Released in beta in November 2004, the Google Scholar index includes most peer-reviewed online academic journals and books, conference papers, theses and dissertations, preprints, abstracts, technical reports, and other scholarly literature, including court opinions and patents.
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
more...less...
9,187 Journals
6,372 searchable at Article level
130 Countries
2,272,721 Articles
Base
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
more...less...
In comparison to commercial search engines, BASE is charcterised by the following features:

Intellectually selected resources
Only document servers that comply with the specific requirements of academic quality and relevance are included
A data resources inventory provides transparency in the searches
Discloses web resources of the "Deep Web", which are ignored by commercial search engines or get lost in the vast quantity of hits
Correction, normalization and enrichment of metadata by means of automated methods
The display of search results includes precise bibliographic data
Display of access and terms of re-use for a document
Several options for sorting the result list
"Refine your search result" options (by author, subject, DDC, year of publication, content provider, language, document type, access and terms of re-use)
Browsing by DDC (Dewey Decimal Classification), document type, access and terms of re-use / licence.

Latinx Studies

Other Related Subjects

Article Finders about Chicanx/Latinx Studies

Portals and Databases

Open Access Repositories

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites