LibGuides: Latinx Studies: NEWS & NEWSPAPERS: Alternative Press

Newspapers, Magazines & Journals

Ethnic NewsWatch [By Proquest]
Full-text of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from 200 ethnic, minority, and native publications in the U.S., in English and in Spanish.
more...less...
The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Title List
Independent Voices An open Acess Collection of Alternative Press
Independent Voices is a work in progress. This collection currently contains 15,401 issues comprising 465,191 pages (march, 2018)
more...less...
Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Title List
Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey:
The Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey was published in 1942 by the Chicago Public Library Omnibus Project of the Work Projects Administration of Illinois. Its purpose was to translate into English and classify selected news articles appearing in the Chicago area foreign language press from 1861 to 1938. The project consists of a file of 120,000 typewritten pages translated from newspapers of 22 different foreign language communities in Chicago.

Underground newspaper collection
Most titles from the United States and Canada. With printed guide. Coverage: 1963-1985. Reels 1-476.
more...less...
Consult Title list (This tile list provides a title list of each newspaper and a listing by geography (city, state) for the Underground newspaper collection.

Consult Alternative Press Index . This is the subject index to alternative media. Extremely helpful if you are using the Underground newspaper collection on microfilm. Useful for finding any alt media, not just on microfilm!. Identifies articles from alternative newspapers, magazines and journals. Indexes publications from 1969-present.
Chicano Studies Library Serial Collection
A collection of Chicano periodicals and newspapers held by the Chicano Studies Library, University of California, Berkeley..
You can consult The Microfilm Guide in excel format.
more...less...
This noteworthy microfilm collection contains Chicano newspapers, newsletters, and journals published throughout the United States from 1855 to the present, with the majority dating from the early Chicano movement in the late 1960s and 1970s. Most of the hardcopy issues are held by the Chicano Studies Library, University of California, Berkeley. There are more than 250 newspapers in the collection, in English and Spanish, published throughout the United States. Currently there are 21 Sections with a total of 726 reels of microfilm.

Important. If you identify a titlethat you want to consult, you need to place a Interlibrary loan request.

In this section are included indexes, bibliographies, union lists, handbooks, guides, and directories to help identify more Alternative Press titles

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Alternative Press Center
The Alternative Press Center (APC) is a non-profit collective dedicated to providing access to the alternative press and publisher of the Alternative Press Index. See their Directory of Periodicals -- a goldmine of links to scores of alternative journal websites, many of which contain full-text archives. Browse directory by alphabetical title list or by "all categories" (e.g. Disability Rights, Ethnic and Racial Studies, Multinational Corporations).
Hispanic Periodicals in the United States, Origins to 1960: A Brief History and Comprehensive Bibliography Edited by Nicolaas Kanellos with Helvetia Martell
Electronic copy
Another Electronic copy
Print copy; Shannon: Z6953.5 .S66 K36 2000
Hispanic Americans in the United States: A Union List of Periodicals and Newspapers Held by the Library of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin and the Libraries of the University of Wisconsin
compiled by Neil E. Strache and James P. Danky. Madison : The Society, 1979.
Shannon Z1361 .S7 W57 1979
Undergrounds: A Union List of Alternative Periodicals in Libraries of the United States and Canada, By James Philip Danky
Madison, State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1974.
Shannon Z6944 .U5 D3
From Radical Left to Extreme Right: A Bibliography of Current Periodicals of Protest, Controversy, Advocacy, or Dissent. 2d ed. rev. and enl. [by] Robert H. Muller, Theodore Jurgen Spahn, and Janet
Ann Arbor, Campus Publishers [1970]-1976, [c1970-1975], 3 vol.
Shannon Z7165 .U5 M82
Annotations: A Guide to the Independent Critical Press
[Baltimore : Alternative Press Center ; San Francisco : Independent Press Association, c1999]. 2nd edition
Electronic copy
Print copy Shannon PN4784 .U53 A557 1999

<< Previous: NEWS & NEWSPAPERS: Current & Archive
Next: PRIMARY SOURCES >>

Latinx Studies

Other Related Subjects

Newspapers, Magazines & Journals

Databases

Microfilms

Guides

In this section are included indexes, bibliographies, union lists, handbooks, guides, and directories to help identify more Alternative Press titles

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites